Phantom of the Opera: The Great Debate

For the most part, Courtney and I are very much alike. We typically like to do the same things, we both enjoy a nice quiet evening reading by ourselves, we love walks and nature, and so on. But there is one thing for which there is just no recourse: Phantom of the Opera.

See, Courtney likes the London cast for PotO. I, personally, think Sarah Brightman (and virtually all the other female voices in the London cast) sounds like she’s being strangled. Courtney really likes the voice of the phantom, played by Michael Crawford. Me? I can’t get pictures of Condorman out of my mind. And when you compare Michael Crawford against the modern Gerard Butler, you might as well put Dick Van Dyke in the ring against Stallone. Butler looks like the Phantom. Butler looks like he could kill people. Butler is downright believable and wonderfully impressive. Crawford, as much as I actually do like him, looks like he got lost in a costume shop, and when he does his maniacal laugh, he loses all credibility as the bad guy. At least I think he does.

And I recognize that I’m in the minority. Most people I ask would pick the London cast over the recent film cast, and that’s fine. Like I always tell them, it’s not necessarily a bad thing to be wrong. ๐Ÿ™‚

I think, for me, the thing is that I don’t care much for classical voices. Like Victorian literature, classical voices grate on me in a way I really can’t describe. I much prefer the smoothness of the modern cast, the ability to understand what they are saying, the lack of chirpy nasalness.

So what do we do? Well, for Mother’s Day, I finally did buy Courtney the London cast of PotO that she’s been asking for for, literally, years. At the same time, I elicited a promise that she’d in turn buy me the modern film soundtrack for Father’s Day.

And never the twain shall meet.

Oh, and to be completely fair, we both like the film.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front, Woman!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Phantom of the Opera: The Great Debate

  1. Sarah L. says:

    What I heard was, “I love my sister-in-law Sarah’s singing!”

    ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. daveloveless says:

    Now THAT is a fact, Sarah. Your version of Oh Holy Night that you sang at my mission home coming still sends shivers up my spine. Truly incredible.

  3. Sarah L. says:

    Aw, gosh! Thank you. ๐Ÿ˜€ I went to Phantom in Vancouver BC years ago. It was pretty, but I think there was something wrong with the sound system. It was quiet.

  4. Travis says:

    I like the songs in the production just fine, and I feel that every version I have heard does a good job with the singing, but for me, it’s the play that I can’t stand. I think the play itself is like the biggest, dumbest, movie of all time! (Think about your hatred of the Will Smith movie of Hancock and that is my feelig of the play Phantom.)
    I think the dialogue is horrible, the story goes nowhere, none of the characters are likeable, and I don’t think that it stands up as a horror, a romance, or anything else.
    Aleisha has never seen it. The production in Vegas cuts the play down to two hours. I will probably take her to that and see if shortening things helps at all. But, after I take Aleisha to it, unless Robert Guillaume stages one more performance of the Phantom, I will never see the play again.

  5. aleisha says:

    i love that my husband has way more opinions on musicals and plays than i ever will (i guess that not liking musicals/plays is a rather large opinion to overcome) i like the music of PoTO and there are some nice lyrics to consider….

  6. daveloveless says:

    I’ve honestly never seen the play unless you count the latest film (which I don’t). Personally, I REALLY like the movie (both the old black and white version and the modern version). Most of that comes from the music, but I also enjoy the story.

  7. Travis says:

    Give me Lon Chaney over any singing Phantom! If you have to sing your feelings, you’re really not that scary!

  8. daveloveless says:

    Travis–You crack me up. I’m not sure if there is even an appropriate response to your last comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. nosurfgirl says:

    classical music is like sushi…

    you have to get used to it.

    And then you like it.

    And then you love it.

    And then everything else pales in comparison ๐Ÿ™‚
    Needless to say, I’m on Courtney’s side.

  10. daveloveless says:

    Yeah… day old sushi found on the floor by your toddler…

    Sorry, couldn’t resist. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. nosurfgirl says:

    that was kind of gross… *sigh*

Leave a Reply

