The sprint of the wounded water buffalo

I went jogging yesterday morning for the first time in many many years. I’ve been meaning to for a very long time, but there are simpler and easier exercises that can be done in the comfort of your own home, so…. Know what I mean?

But I’ve decided that if I’m going to be serious about getting in shape, jogging it is.

I used to run track as well as jog fairly regularly. Personally, I rather enjoy a good jog, my favorite being the airport trail up in Juneau. That trail, about 2.2 miles one way if I remember right, takes you out and around the airport and into the mud plain/estuary. The area is frequently visited by migratory birds and the occasional bear. Nothing like a bear on the trail to get your heart rate pumping.

But I digress. So I did go jogging yesterday. I think the best description of the event really is wounded water buffalo. It’s just been so long since I’ve jogged…. For my route, I took a brief tour around the County buildings and, in a purely ironic moment, past the local bakery. The sweet smells of yeast and sugar just about ended any aspirations of hope right there. And while I only jogged for about 15 minutes and 1.5 miles (roughly), I felt remarkably invigorated and alive. It reminded me why I do enjoy jogging, while also making me wonder why I ever stopped.

Now for the goal: I’d like to eventually NOT sound like a wounded water buffalo, but I think I’ll happily settle for winning the Boston Marathon. Okay seriously… My record for the mile is 6:02 set when I was 15. Part of me would be thrilled to get back under eight minutes, but I do admit a long-standing sense of regret that I just barely missed getting into a very small club of people who can claim they’ve run a mile in under six minutes. I’m not sure if that’s really a goal or not, but I’d be very happy with that accomplishment.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The sprint of the wounded water buffalo

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    Hah! *I* was going to start jogging. You can’t steal all my ideas, Dave!

    (ahem. So… I haven’t started yet. ANd I’m pretty sure when I do start the buffalo won’t be just wounded. It will be dead. ON the front doorstep. And trampled by small brown and pink feet. So maybe you win after all.)

Leave a Reply

