How to Delete a Facebook Account

Now this one has been a long time coming. Most people know that I don’t care much for Facebook. It’s not that I hate Facebook, I just don’t care for Facebook. If you love it and use it, good for you.

I don’t.

But I do have an account. Well, I did. See, I signed up for one years ago because a friend wanted to keep in touch. I remember my first thought being, “then why don’t you e-mail or call me?” I created the account, and, since he was my only “friend,” I went straight to his page…. It was like being dropped straight back into high school.

No thanks.

That was the first and last time I was actually on Facebook until today, and I only went in today to say goodbye.

I thought it might be somewhat difficult to delete the account, but I was actually surprised at how simple it was.

  1. Go to the Help screen and do a search on the word “Delete.”
  2. Scan the results for something to the effect of permanently delete your account. You may have to look at additional results, and you might have better luck doing a search on “permanently delete.”
  3. At the bottom of the help file for deleting your account is a link. Click it.
  4. Follow the fairly simple steps from that point on.

It took me all of two minutes and, in 14 days, my account will be permanently dead and gone (kind of like my high school days to tell you the truth).

Like I said, it’s not that I don’t like Facebook (or my high school days). It’s more that I don’t need it.

I reserve, of course, the right to change. I’m a brat that way. 🙂

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Delete a Facebook Account

  1. Pingback: Delete Facebook Account

  2. Travis says:

    I use Facebook quite a bit. However, I am soon going to dump a bunch of “friends” that I don’t care about.
    Aleisha and I are on the committee for our 20 yr high school reunion (coming up in about a month!) and Facebook has been a good way to reconnect with a few people for me. Most of my “friends” that I have only to give them info about the reunion will be going bye-bye after the reunion and I will only stay with the “friends” that I really want to keep in touch with.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s