… but we must be doing something right

I suppose this is more of a response to my last post than anything, but I thought I’d post this gem.

On Monday, we did our normal Family Home Evening, and it just happened to be Katherine’s turn to teach. We have a little booklet that has a lesson for every day of the year and makes it easy. When she teaches, we normally pull that down, read the short lesson to her beforehand, and then, during FHE, ask her guiding questions to help her “teach” us. This time, however, she announced that she’d do it by herself.

Courtney and I watched as she went into our room, found the little booklet, sat on our bed, opened up the booklet to the current lesson, and began sounding out each word. Every time we tried to help, she banished us from the room. About 15 minutes later, she announced that she was done and it was now time for Family Home Evening. Thus.

We fully expected to have to help her, but when it was her turn she launched into a long and detailed explanation of Christ’s crucifixion and resurrection. Her lesson was even peppered with appropriate questions and discussion points which, yes, she led. We were dumbfounded. I don’t know why I’m still surprised by this, but she’s shockingly intelligent, has an incredible testimony, and has a truly wonderful amount of self-confidence. She just knows. I think it is one of my favorite things about her.

So I’m not sure if it’s something we’re doing right or if she’s just innately an incredible person. Probably the latter, but given the fact that she’s still getting over her ear infection, I’ll claim the former to make myself feel better. 🙂

Oh, and just for the record, did you know that the soldiers were put outside Jesus’ tomb to keep the angel from stealing the body? Yeah, neither did we, but Katherine seemed pretty sure that that was why they were there.

This entry was posted in Katherine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to … but we must be doing something right

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    wow… amazing.

    I need to give my kids more opportunities like that.

    You have a prodigy on your hands, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

