Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes

And now it is my turn to be less impressed….

The Good

My favorite character was Jude Law as Watson, but I’ve always really liked Jude Law. He and Holmes have a palpable relationship that carries well on film, and you get a sense of the genuine friendship.

The plot itself was alright as well. I’ll be honest that a movie such as this (a thinking movie) requires me to be in the right frame of mind, and I wasn’t. Courtney, on the other hand, very much enjoyed it and had a good time trying to figure things out before Holmes.

No sex (though there is a scene where Holmes is wearing nothing but a pillow) and fairly mild language are also bonuses.

The Bad

Back to that plot… can you say Guy Fawkes? I mean really… Kill all of parliament by putting a device in the sewer beneath the building? Where have I heard that before? Honestly, that would be my only complaint on the plot.

The female lead was… terrible? I don’t know why that is, but I kept wishing someone else where playing her role. Virtually anyone else.

Conclusion

My first rating is a 2 out of 4 stars, but I recognize that I was very tired that night and my mind wasn’t with the movie (I had just been released from my calling). If I had seen it on a better night, I would probably go with a more honest 3 out of 4.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes

  1. Travis says:

    I am a huge Rachel McAdams fan (the female lead) but even I have to agree that she was the weak link.
    Otherwise- I thought it was a fabulous film! Loads of fun and a much closer representation of Holmes than the boring character that is always portrayed onscreen. (I am not a Basil Rathbone fan.)
    I loved Jude Law as well as RDJ (who has been giving us excellent work since 1985 in Weird Science- which strangely connects to this film, no?). And Mark Strong (the main villain of the piece) is going to be the next “creepy bad guy you love to hate” as he has 4 major films coming out this year.
    And, along with a nice nod to Moriarty- I am awaiting the sequel!

Leave a Reply

