Movie Review: The Blind Side

Today is an owie day on the inside. I can’t talk about it all just yet, but I will early next week. But my mind is very much somewhere else today….

The Good

I adore Sandra Bullock, and I especially adore her in this film. She’s just great. She’s hilarious and emotional and snappy all at the same time. Her character, when on screen, so thoroughly dominates the film that you forget sometimes that the movie is really about Michael, not her. And it works.

Michael is also a treasure. I’ve heard that the man who played him was a no-name walk on, but he accurately portrays the gentleness, the size, and the humility that is so essential to this story. I think Courtney said it best when the camera zoomed in close: He’s handsome. And it’s not a handsome in terms of looks. It’s a handsome that goes deeper than that.

SJ, the little boy, is uniquely interesting as well. It’s hard to imagine that a little kid could be that precocious, but then again, maybe not.

Finally, each of the touching moments, and there are plenty, are genuine. More than once did I find myself dragged along more by what I felt in my heart than what I saw on the screen.

The Bad

There is some language. There’s a scene where Michael returns to his first home, and the language is just raunchy enough to give the right feeling without descending into true filth. But still, it is language.

It’s also felt a little on the long side, but not necessarily unpleasantly so.

Conclusion

Has there ever been an easier film to rate?

Four stars! Solid, masterful, and entirely heartwarming and touching. This is a film we will add to our collection, and I’d recommend it to anyone.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Review: The Blind Side

  1. Sarah L. says:

    I’m going to add it to my Netflix queue! Thanks for the review. Sorry for the owie insides.

  2. Lora Leigh says:

    Joe and I agree. We recently saw this one and absolutely loved it.

    On a side note, have you seen “Did You Hear About the Millers?” It was a cute, funny one we stumbled across recently. We were pleasantly surprised. If you haven’t seen it yet, give it a shot!

  3. Lora Leigh says:

    Oops… Morgans… “Did You Hear About the MORGANS”; I’m previewing a version of Rumpelstiltskin to show my class, and it was talking about the miller’s daughter. Guess I’m not as good of a multitasker as I think!

Leave a Reply

