Almost liking it

I wish you could all see the house (so you will, shortly). Our painters, who have done a fantastic job, are just about done, and I’ll be posting a series of before and after images then.

It’s hard to describe the paint job so far, but it would be fair to say that the house is the most vibrant house in at least a five-block radius. Maybe ten. Maybe even larger than that to be honest. Personally, I’m madly in love with the way the house looks. It’s incredible, and it’s a total match to my personality. Alive, energetic, and bold. I think Courtney likes it too, though she’s less enthused.

My favorite, though, is to ask Katherine what she thinks. Her responses range from “I would like it if it were pink,” to “I almost like it, but it’s not done yet.” Almost liking it…. What a kid.

Of course, now that we’ve done all this work, now it’s time to see if we can sell it. There’s a very big part of me that doesn’t want to sell it. We’ve done so much work, and it’s hard to see someone else get all the benefits of that labor. At the same time, I suppose we’ll see some of the benefits in the price that we get for it and the knowledge that we’ve really been very good for this home. Our goal all along was to make it our own while also making it something that the original builders, whoever they were, would be happy with it.

At the very least, I hope they look down on their little home and say, “Well, I almost like it. Let me know when you’re really done.”

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almost liking it

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Can’t wait to see it! 😀

Leave a Reply

