Book Review: Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins

This is the second book following Hunger Games. I enjoyed the Hunger Games, which I gave 3.5 stars out of 4, but Catching Fire takes Suzanne Collins to a new level. So much so that I feel that she really came in to her own with this book.

The story itself focuses on the year following the first book. Many of the same conflicts continue, especially the main character’s relationship with her friend, Peeta. I think that particular conflict, and her growth that comes as a result of it, is especially interesting and, if I may say this without being negative, stereotypical of the adolescent genre in general, though better built.

Like the first, this book is fairly violent, though not graphically so. Like the first, it is also clean in terms of language and sexuality. The themes of freedom and self-determination are also pre-eminent.

Because of the improvement over the first book, I put Catching Fire at a solid four stars. If the third book, due this August, equals the mastery of the second book, I’ll have to upgrade the entire trilogy to a very solid four stars and perhaps even give them one of my coveted “Five best books of the year” acknowledgments (there, Aleisha. That’s for you.).

Ah, yes…. I see I’m going to have to learn how to write a better book review. They’re always so random. 🙂

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    I need to read these! BUt I just comitted to reading classics. So what I need to do is start a list of what to read AFTER I finish reading classics… modern classics, so to speak.

  2. Lora says:

    I totally agree, Dave. I really liked The Hunger Games, but I LOVED Catching Fire. I think the brutality was taken down just a bit, but the plot was every bit (or maybe even more) intense. I am definitely looking forward to the third!

  3. aleisha says:

    acknowledgment acknowledged, thank you. and just to be fair, i did read both books in two weeks, so maybe i didn’t separate the book into two stories. i appreciate the integrity of the characters and the maturity of perspective of them.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins « the prodigal

Leave a Reply

