A good question

In my study this morning, I came across a question:

Why is it important to know the truth that you are a child of God?

As part of a goal, and for the Addiction series that never quite got off the ground on my blog, I’ve been reading the Church’s Addiction Recovery manual. It’s a wonderful manual designed to help all people with any kind of addiction. Courtney and I started working on it together with each of us picking something in our lives we saw as an addiction, and it has been a wonderful process.

But back to the question…. That question was asked in the fourth chapter, which deals with the concept of truth. In particular, the chapter focuses on making a written inventory of your life, both good and bad, so that you can honestly face your past and work on cleaning out the corners. So to see that question, carefully worded as it is, was somewhat eye opening.

My very first impression as I answered it was to wonder how many people truly believe that, even in the Church. Do we really accept that we are God’s children? Do we really accept all that that implies? What does that imply?

I thought back to the comment I received on my blog early last week implying that there is no god, and I felt sorrow for that person–and anyone really–who doesn’t recognize that relationship either through their own choice or ignorance. My relationship with God is of highest worth to me, and it’s important to know that truth because it gives meaning to life.

Knowing that we are children of God tells us that there is a reason. If nothing else, if all else fails, if all else is lost, knowing that we are children of God means there is purpose to it. Knowing that we are children of God gives us crucial insights into His nature and the relationship He longs to have with us. I’ll always be grateful that my earthly father, a man whom I admire and love more than most, has built for me a relationship that easily transfers to Heavenly Father. I can understand Heavenly Father’s love for me because my father loves me unconditionally. I can understand Heavenly Father’s counsel for me because my father gives me careful, wise counsel based on scripture and prophetic teaching. I can understand Heavenly Father’s directions because my father has always given me humble and patient direction (and correction I might add).

In light of addictions, knowing that we truly are children of God and truly accepting that means we have access to Him no matter our standing. We can beg Him for help no matter our current situation, and He will answer. Very near to that question in the manual was another comment that struck me. The gist is that we have access to the Holy Ghost even if the Gift of the Holy Ghost has been removed. Translation: even if we’ve been excommunicated, we can turn to our Heavenly Father knowing that He will hear us.

Is there any doubt, then, that the message of the Gospel is truly one of peace, joy, happiness, and eternal life? Is there any doubt, then, that the God of our creation is an attentive God? A God who watches and yearns for us? A God who is patient and wise enough to recognize the growth we achieve through our experiences?

I have a habit sometimes of making sure I call my Heavenly Father “dad.” I don’t do it out of disrespect. Rather, I do so that I have it firmly ingrained in my mind that my relationship with Him is personal, unique, close, and very, very real. How can knowing the truth of that relationship help me?

How can it not?

As Christ said:

And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent. (John 17:3)

This entry was posted in Addictions, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

