Book Review: The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

I’m always looking for a good book, and this happens to be a book recommended to me because of World War Z. See, I recommended that book to a friend, and when he went to the bookstore with his wife to buy it, she bought The Hunger Games to read while she waited for my friend to read World War Z.

And so it goes.

The Hunger Games focuses on a post-apocalyptic world where a dominant city-state rules the remains of North America. Each year, the rural districts, because of a prior act of rebellion, are forced to give up two teens (one male, one female) to be tributed to the Hunger Games, an annual gladiator-style combat that takes place over several weeks. The survivor is treated as a national hero, while the losers, true to form, are butchered by their fellow tributes.

The book is a fast read with my wife and I both reading it in under five hours. Courtney thought it started a bit confusing in that the world just kind of happens, instead of being fully explained. I did not find it confusing, but probably because I have the nasty little habit of reading plot summaries on Wikipedia sometimes. My only true complaint is that the entire book is written in first person as opposed to the more common narrative style, which uses the past tense. Because of the first person voice, the language comes off slightly skewed as though we’re constantly existing in the immediate present instead of merely reading about the book. While it’s an uncomfortable style, it does a good job of both entering into the mind of an adolescent girl and increasing our inherent distrust for her surroundings.

Not my favorite read of the year, but definitely a top choice. An easy 3.5 stars out of four.

Oh, and it’s part of a trilogy. I’m looking forward to the other two books.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

  1. aleisha says:

    so how can a book be not one of your favorites of the year and still earn a 3.5 out of 4? how many books, good books at that, do you read a year? i have a goal to read 52 books in a year and i am lucky if a 3.5 comes up 3 or 4 times?!

    yes, this would be aleisha yelling at your logic…please enlighten…..

  2. daveloveless says:

    You make me laugh, Aleisha….

    Two reasons:

    1–I consider that I’ll probably encounter better books over the remainder of the year, so I very rarely declare a book a top 5 finisher until I’m more sure that it’ll stay there.

    2–Between me and Courtney, we probably hit pretty close to 400 to 450 book a year. Not all are new, of course, but it’s hard to find a top 5 out of that many books, so it’s not uncommon to see a 3.5 not make top 5.

    I think, so far, that I’m right around 30 books on the year and Courtney’s probably around 70 or so.

  3. nosurfgirl says:

    Wow. I don’t feel quite as embarrassed about my own reading addiction, now… 🙂

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins « the prodigal

Leave a Reply

