Reading help? And the power of blessings

Katherine is learning to read sooo very fast. It seems that she picks up at least a few words every day that she now recognizes on sight. She’s also learning how to combine the sounds and sound out words. I’m very impressed with how quickly she is learning and her overall interest in reading. Every morning, she grabs her scriptures and takes her turn reading. She does fairly well and recognizes most of the basic words now (and, for, in, of, the, etc.). She struggled mightily trying to read “abominations” this morning, much to our amusement, but she did try quite courageously to read it on her own and actually came surprisingly close.

But now Courtney and I are at a loss for what to give her. She’s very ready to start trying her hand at a classic “See Spot run” style book, but I have no clue what to get for her.

That’s where you come in.

Some of you, my faithful readers, have children either Katherine’s age or slightly older who have gone through this. What worked for you? What encouraged your children? What books would you recommend? What activities? Katherine already LOVES the library, but we’re ready for her to have a book that she can actually read herself. Something that she can master. I actually remember quite vividly the first book that I actually read myself (a wonderful Bearenstein Bears). It was such a sense of accomplishment for me, and I was enormously proud. I want her to have that.

On other news, a friend in our ward is doing a speech assignment for her speech therapy class. She has to interview a younger kid and do an analysis on their speech patterns. Since she is a friend, she asked if she could do Katherine. Katherine apparently is right on track. I’m glad.

Oh, and another note… (this post is turning quite random, isn’t it?) When we blessed Myron for his eye, I felt prompted to bless him mentally as well. Courtney and I have been concerned that he’s not developing in that area and while much of it is likely his eye problems, there were other areas of concerns. It’s been just shy of two weeks now since that blessing, and Myron’s vocabulary has leaped from maybe two words to a dozen or so with new ones daily, he comprehends MUCH more than he speaks, and he started feeding himself. He’s also started to engage in creative play, block stacking, and some other things that toddlers are supposed to do. It’s been a night and day difference for him, and I can honestly say that I come home each day wondering how much he’s changed in the eight hours I’m at work.

Just a testimony that priesthood blessings work.

There. Now I’m ending this mass o’ randomness before I think of something else to write. 🙂

This entry was posted in Katherine, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reading help? And the power of blessings

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Dr. Seuss! The words repeat a lot and repetition is the key.

  2. Sarah B says:

    Go Dogs Go.

  3. nosurfgirl says:

    kids, kids kids!! What a bundle of joys and concerns. And what a blessing inspiration is.

    I hope those books I gave you work out. Since they’re part of a cirriculum, they have sort of a strategic advancement for phonics and vocabulary and “sight words” and each page and chapter matches vowels so they can start learning about “recognizing” words sooner as opposed to having to sound every single letter.

    I had a set of ten books that were similarly designed that I had Emma read and it really helped her… after that Dr. Seuss and all those came very easily and she could just grab a book from the shelf and read if she wanted to.
    Another thing you could do (if you wanted) is go to a website that has a list of “sight words” that kindergarteners learn. Help her learn to recognize those sight word (I think there might be about a hundred of them) and she’ll be off like a rocket. I think that’s the one thing that Emma took away from kindergarten that I wasn’t doing that really sped her progress. Anyway… awesome! And I’m glad Myron seems to be progressing well, too.

  4. Laura G says:

    Here’s the first book I read all by myself:

    http://tinyurl.com/yz9hfz5

  5. aleisha says:

    trav and i have racked our brains, here we are no help. we don’t remember learning to read. we just remember reading. so, when she is past this stage we have lots of suggestions:) meaning, we have lots of favorite children’s books that we would recommend that you would enjoy over and over!

Leave a Reply

