But I don’t want to be a pirate!

The man hates wearing his eye patches. It is always a fight to get it on, and they aren’t as sticky as I wish they were. The first day, he’d just reach up and rip it off. Then the adhesive was ruined, so it was open a new one, give up, or make do with the reduced stickiness. We made it to one hour and then gave up.

Day two he was better. He still hated the first few minutes, but he quickly adjusted and was okay with it…

… right up to the point that he walked straight into the door frame. The frame was on his blind side, and he smashed into it hard. The resulting tears ruined that eye patch.

Hopefully today (day three) we’ll manage to work out all the kinks in the system and he’ll be fine.

I have noticed that his bad eye seems to work really hard when his good eye is patched. That’s good. That’s what we want. He always seems like he’s focusing much harder and really trying to pay attention to that eye. The doctor said that his bad eye is underdeveloped, and I can only assume that means that it just isn’t used to focusing like his good eye.

Oh, and I found out what exactly is involved in the surgery, and let’s just say that I, as an adult, would not choose that procedure for myself. I just wouldn’t. When I read the details, I felt physically ill and … [shudder]. We’ll do it for him, but man…. I’ll need to be sedated just as much as he will I think.

We’re still hoping, of course, that the patch works as planned and takes care of the issue without the surgery.

This entry was posted in Myron. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But I don’t want to be a pirate!

  1. Sarah L. says:

    I hope he won’t need surgery! Poor guy.

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    awww…. poor kid. Having to see things he hasn’t learned how to see yet. Being half-blind. It’s for his own good, but dang, how scary that would be…

  3. Courtney Loveless says:

    Since we’ve started putting the eye patches on, he has been having night-terrors during the night. Lots of hysterical screaming and I don’t think he’s even awake, even though his eyes are open.

    He can be looking in my direction and not even see me, which makes me think he’s still asleep.

    Last night wasn’t too bad, there was only one incident. The day before that it was nearly every hour…..

    The phrase for today is “sleep deprived.”

Leave a Reply

