Breaking my own rules…

I’m somewhat reminded of that line from Firefly (one of my all-time favorite TV series) where Malcolm looks at his “wife” and says, “I’m going to that special place.”

I’ve long fought the idea of including pictures on my blog because I wanted it to be about the writing, but we got our very first family portraits back the other day, and I was so happy with the results that… Well….

I’m going to that special place….

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breaking my own rules…

  1. JeffreyD says:

    That is a good photograph! I wonder what touchup they did? The white background with subtle, soft shadows is effective and makes this photo usable in several contexts.

    Are you going to mount this in your home?

  2. daveloveless says:

    Time for a shout out…

    The friend who took the portraits owns a professional studio in town. Mostly he shoots artwork, but he sometimes can be talked into doing family portraits. He does a FANTASTIC job, and I’d more than gladly recommend him.

    By the way, Jeff, you’ve met him. He and his wife were briefly at the Fourth of July BBQ we did last summer. I’ll give you his card when we come over next.

  3. daveloveless says:

    Oh, and yes, we’ll probably make some 8X10 prints and put them up. Our friend’s suggestion (also named Dave) was to print off a big 20X30. I soundly agree, but I don’t have the wall space currently. Maybe in a different house….

  4. Sarah L. says:

    Yes, come to the dark side ….. Post pictures …… I can sense the photographer in you …….

  5. DWH says:

    Now that you have started down that slippery slope I foresee Facebook next!

  6. daveloveless says:

    Right…. Facebook is no where near that slippery slope. That might come only after I’m in a complete freefall!

  7. aleisha says:

    love love love the photo, want want want one!

  8. Jocelyn says:

    Such a beautiful pic of the fam! Love that Myron is playing with his little car… so cute… and Catherine (I hope I spelled that right since there are like 5 spellings, at least) looks soooo gorgeous… just like Courtney (pouty lips and all). 🙂

  9. Anthony D. says:

    I sense a disruption in the force! All I do is post pictures on my blog with simple descriptions…maybe I’ll have to start writing more in my posts to balance the force… (Great looking family Dave! And yes I remember talking to that guy about photography during the Independence Day BBQ.)

Leave a Reply

