Google Buzz

Oh joy…. Now do I not only get to despise Facebook and Twitter, Google has finally come up with their own version for me to dislike. Even better, it was automatically added to my gmail account yesterday.

I spent exactly long enough on it to figure out how to turn it off and hide it from my view.

At least there was that.

Sorry, but I do not do social media sites. I don’t do text. I don’t do Twitter. I don’t do any of those things. Blogging and e-mail are about as “edgy” as I get there because I want REAL, MEANINGFUL contact with you, not this shallow digitized communication. If I’m important enough to contact in the first place, I’m important enough for you to pick up the phone or at least send an e-mail.

I promise to return the favor.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Google Buzz

  1. Anthony D. says:

    And when was the last time you called me on a phone? Yes you do email, good on ya. 😉

  2. daveloveless says:

    The real question is when have I had a reason to call? 🙂

    I don’t mean that to offend, but if I ever have a reason to talk to someone, I either call or send an e-mail. Maybe if you put on a huge cheese party of some kind….

  3. Sarah L. says:

    *sends David another Facebook request*

  4. daveloveless says:

    LOL! You crack me up, Sarah.

    Sorry, but I actually do have a Facebook account, and I even got on once. I had a friend who asked me to get one so that we could stay in contact (my first thought was, “what’s wrong with e-mail?”). When I registered, I went straight to his account, and it looked like my high school days had come back in great force.

    Total turn off, and I haven’t been back since.

    I’ve heard you can disable all that stuff, but I still went back to that first question: What’s wrong with e-mail.

    My big thing with Facebook is that it feels more like people throwing hooks out there and hoping to nab a friend like a fish. There seems to be no real activity on the posters part to actually maintain or build friendships. I know that’s not always true, but that is my impression.

    Personally, friendships are too valuable and important to cast hooks at them. For me, I have a core of very good friends (Jeff and Nosurfgirl come immediately to mind) whom I deeply admire and contact regularly. Surrounding them is a secondary level of friends who I appreciate but don’t necessarily contact very often. And the levels go out from there.

    That feels natural to me. It’s a personal organization to the friendship hierarchy that lets me choose how to interact and express my feelings for each one on an individual level. Most people rotate constantly through those levels as contacts are lost, and I’m fine with that. It’s natural.

    Well, at least it is to me.

  5. Sarah L. says:

    Yeah, some people I can’t imagine being in contact with my whole life and expect to slowly drift away. 😀 I do enjoy it though and have been more selective about who I accept requests from. Some people seem to see it as a competition. I do love that I keep in contact with my relatives all over the world. I hadn’t talked to some of them in years.

    Tim has a FB request awaiting him when he gets home. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

