Movie Review: Julie & Julia

I saw this on a preview a few weeks back and have kept my eyes open for it since then. I’m happy to say that I wasn’t disappointed.

The Good

Uh… Two words: Meryl Streep. If I could say anyone thing about this movie, it is that Meryl Streep put in an Oscar-worthy performance. She plays Julia Child in the movie, and by the end of the film, I’m a Julia Child fan through and through based only on Meryl Streep’s performance. Classic.

The other lead was also incredibly believable and enjoyable. I felt a very strong connection with her because, as a writer, I often feel the same way she does about life in general. Oddly enough, we’re even pretty much the same age and same stage in life.

The story itself was entertaining, hilarious, and entirely enjoyable. The relationship between Julia and her husband was probably one of the most believable relationships I’ve ever seen on film, and I found myself smiling each time they appeared on screen together.

Sigh… truly, an easy front runner for my favorite film of the year so far, and it’ll take a lot to knock it off the podium.

The Bad

Language. Not a lot, but the language there was was just too much and too vile. If anything takes away the full four stars from this film, it’ll be this.

Other than that, I think I can say that it was admirable in most other ways.

Conclusion

Sadly, it’s not going to get that top rating because of the language, but if you are a true fan of acting and dialog over action, this is an easy MUST SEE film for the year. It’s one of the few films I could see myself actually buying and watching on a fairly regular basis.

The kids will be bored because there is no action, but its light-hearted comedy mixed in with infectious happiness and witty dialog makes it a joy for a cozy evening with a loved one.

3.5 out of 4 stars with the drop coming only because of language.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Review: Julie & Julia

  1. Sarah L. says:

    I really enjoyed it too! Just saw it a couple weeks ago.

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    I love meryl streep. Love her. I used to hate her because everybody told me I looked like her but now I’ve decided she’s not such a bad person to look like.

    I am pretty excited to see this movie. SKywalker and I don’t get out enough to see movies… we need to start rein-stating date night.

  3. aleisha says:

    amy adams was the other lead, i found her character a bit whiny or whiney (spelling?)… stanley tucci as her adoring adorable husband was my favorite part.

    you hit right on with your comment about my orange bedspread:)

Leave a Reply

