Recipe: Tilapia and roasted veggies

I know so many people who don’t really appreciate fish. Believe me, I’m with you. I personally don’t much care for fishy fish, particularly salmon and I COME FROM ALASKA!!!

I’m much more into the white, mild fish like halibut and tilapia as well as shrimp. If you’ve never done tilapia and are a fish hater, do give it a try. It’s generally extremely mild, flaky, and very tender.

The other night, I prepared a new recipe that was originally written for salmon, but with some quick modifications, it turned into probably my second-favorite dish with tilapia. My first would be my pesto tilapia and rice. Yum yum.

Tilapia with Roasted Veggies

Ingredients

  • 1 bag/can of green beans
  • 1 bag/can of corn
  • 1 tilapia fillet per person
  • 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese
  • 1/4  cup mozzarella or Italian blend cheese
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder

Grease a large baking dish with some olive oil. Dump the green beans into the pan and spread them out. Cover them with a light drizzle of olive oil, and sprinkle some salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder on top. Bake at 450 degrees for about 10 minutes or until they are cooked through (canned tends to be done faster).

After they are done cooking, pull the beans out and add the corn. Mix it all well and push the veggies to one side of the pan. On the other side of the pan, lay out the tilapia fillets. Sprinkle salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder over the tilapia and then add a light covering of the mozzarella. On top of the mozzarella sprinkle the parmesan cheese. Sprinkle any remaining mozzarella and parmesan cheese over the veggies and fire the whole thing back into the oven for 12 to 15 minutes at 450. Serve.

I think my favorite part of this dish is that the corn starts to seep some of its sugars, and those caramelize nicely in the pan adding a sweet tang to the veggies that contrasts really well with the garlic and onion flavors. The fish, on the other hand, is nice and moist and extremely flaky. Added bonus: Only one pan to clean.

Like I said, if you’re not a fish person, you might give this a try.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe: Tilapia and roasted veggies

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Salmon hater.

    Oh, and that sounds good. Never had tilapia.

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    oh… that sounds good. I’ll have to find a sub for the cheeses though… good luck to me!!

    I make something very similar with broccoli and carrots in the pan, the fish nestled in it, with garlic powder, olive oil, lemon juice, parsley, parmesan cheese. I roast the fish (highest oven temp… like 500 degrees) for about 15 minutes or so and it’s DONE and YUMMY, and the veggies too.

    that’s when we’re not being vegan, of course.

Leave a Reply

