Thank You Massachusetts!

I can’t even begin to tell you how thrilled I was to hear this morning that Brown (R) beat Coakley (D) in the special election for Senate. Absolutely thrilled.

Now to make a few things clear:

  • I would have been thrilled for any vote that broke a super-majority in our government no matter who had won. This government was NOT designed to work in a super-majority environment, and the partisan joke of the last 12 months is perfect evidence of that.
  • I’m NOT opposed to healthcare reform. I’m opposed to THIS healthcare reform. My sincere hope is that Brown’s election forces the entire bill back to the drawing board for a complete overhaul that takes into account the gross overspending across the board.

Hopefully this vote forces the Democrats to open a seat at the table for other ideas regarding healthcare. The utter arrogance of the Dems these last 12 months has been appalling. At the same time, a word of advice to the Republicans: TAKE THE SEAT! I’m a conservative at heart, so that often means I lean republican, but I’ve been just as annoyed that there seems to be few ideas coming from that side of the aisle that don’t start with the word “no.” The seat is there, so sit down and use it wisely.

And for everyone in general: please, please, please get over it. I’m so tired of the internal bickering from all of you. It’s obscene, it’s pitiful, it’s juvenile, and it’s blinding you to the obvious. We sent you to do a job, and up until now you have been nowhere near worthy of your hire.

Man… every time I think politics, the Libertarians sure look better and better. If they could only put up a legitimate candidate….

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank You Massachusetts!

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    Whoa!!

    I must say that, despite the numbers/polls etc quoted, I was quite surprised to hear of this.

    We’ll see what happens now… I don’t think the senate’s gonna seat him, until after the voting, but that DOES mean the dems are down by one, so it’ll be difficult (if not impossible) to pass the health care bill without a heckuva lot more compromise than is currently on the table.

    The thing I feel about all this is, how silly. I mean, neither the dems nor the repubs seem to be all that worried about the monetary monstrosity that this will be. And if we end up with a watered-down, means-nothing bill that will cost billions of dollars for no reason? In my mind that’s worse than a bill that might actually do something… hopefully productive. Of course my first choice is that we figure out a way to completely restructure our healthcare system so that we truly can start from square one and actually come up with something pleasing to all sides that actually DOES save money… but good luck with that. So many senators are in the pockets of the current establishment that this will never happen.
    Unfortunate.

Leave a Reply

