FINE!!! You win!

I’m going to the doctor today.

Well, hopefully today. I still have to set up the appointment. Hopefully the clinic opens soon.

Yesterday, my back had really started to ache and just throb, so I asked some friends to give me a blessing (thanks Dave and Ty!). I had called my most-beloved home teachers, but they were out. I adore our home teachers, but that is a post for another day.

During the blessing, I was counseled to seek assistance from the medical community. Immediately after the blessing, my back stopped aching, but the other side of my chest starting constricting and aching. Since then, I’ve had a lot of pain when breathing; I can’t sit, stand, lay, or do cartwheels; and I’m just in a lot of pain. I don’t say this lightly, but when I finally admit to the pain, I’m in serious pain. Pain is something that has never bothered me, so when it finally does….

I’m personally hoping for one of two results:

  1. Give me an insta-cure that takes care of the problem immediately.
  2. Shoot me and put me out of my misery.

If neither of those are available, I guess I’ll settle for some pain meds and some direction on relieving the pain.

What a way to spend your birthday! 🙂

Oh, on a related note, apparently falling is contagious. I’ve learned that over the last week, my brother fell, my sister fell, and my dad fell all within about two days of each other. I’m the only one with a break, but all were pretty good falls as near as I can tell.

Of course, this all continues to build my case for moving to the tropics where such hazardous things like “ice” don’t exist.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to FINE!!! You win!

  1. DWH says:

    So, MY prescription did not help much? -DWH

  2. daveloveless says:

    Oh no. The chocolate you brought was greedily consumed and enjoyed immensely. Unfortunately, it didn’t come with any refills….

  3. Sarah L. says:

    One thing I learned during the broken foot saga is that ibuprofen can interfere with healing. I don’t think I took any, but I remember reading it. Unfortunately, my friend who shattered his ankle was popping them like crazy and found out weeks later that he shouldn’t be taking them.

    I hope your doctor can give you something for the pain at least. I think now is the perfect time for my kids to come visit and jump on you. What do you think?

  4. daveloveless says:

    Excellent. Please bring all of them!!!

    Myron gave me a good solid kick in the ribs the other day, and I thought I was dead forever….

  5. nosurfgirl says:

    My gosh…

    I’m glad you’re going to the Doctor. Hopefully it’s not anything serious… but hopefully you can start getting some help. I’m sure that you tweaked some major stuff, at least.

    Gee… I do hope you feel better by tommorow. It would suck (and I don’t use that word lightly) to be laid up on your birthday.

  6. Laura G says:

    Happy-as-can-be-expected-all-things-considered birthday!

  7. daveloveless says:

    Thanks everybody.

    I just got home from the doctor, and the confirmed a seriously hurt rib on my right side. He also said that the major pain now is that I sprained just about everything else in my body. According to the doctor, I have sprained ribs all up and down my left side as well as some spraining in my shoulder. Well that explains that.

    He also said that the pain from that peaks around day 8 (today!!) and that things will calm down from here. I got a prescription for some anti-inflammation stuff as well as a narcotic that I didn’t recognize. I’ll be taking the anti-inflammatory, but I plan to hold off the narcotic unless I’m driven to it.

  8. Travis says:

    Hope you get feeling better.
    So, you want to move to the tropics so there’s nothing hazardous like ice? No ice, but many more sharks, I’m pretty sure. 🙂

  9. nosurfgirl says:

    I’ve heard it doesn’t hurt that bad to get eaten by a shark because their teeth are so sharp.

    So maybe it’d still be a better trade.

  10. Travis says:

    If he is actually eaten, it may not be so bad, but if one leg is partially mangled, that would be at least the equivalent of falling on ice.

  11. daveloveless says:

    Wow… I’ll make sure to be outright eaten. 🙂

    You guys rock.

  12. nosurfgirl says:

    Maybe. I suppose the damage would be more permanent, in that case… and I guess anticipation would add a lot to the situation in a shark-attack.

    If you’re comparing relatively minor injuries from both types of situations, then yes maybe the ice is better. But if you were to slowly die after falling on ice, as opposed to the quick-and-painless event of being entirely eaten by a shark feeding frenzy, maybe the shark would be better?

    I really really hope I die in my sleep though.

Leave a Reply

