Broken Ribs: Part II

I suppose I should correct that. Broken rib, not ribs.

I still haven’t gone to the doctor (I know, I know, and there is nothing you can say that Courtney hasn’t already said). As near as I can tell, the biggest reason to go to the doctor is to find out whether I have internal injuries. Since it has been four days since I fell, I’m pretty confident I don’t have those internal injuries. Still, I know I’m going to hear it from some, and if my mother ever reads this… Heaven help me.

Up until now, I have assumed it was nothing more than a bruised or cracked rib, but early this morning, I rolled over in bed and heard an audible crack followed by a sweep of pain. As near as I can tell, I put pressure on the crack and managed to, shall I say, “finish it off.” Needless to say, I didn’t sleep much after that, and church was miserable. I just couldn’t get comfortable.

Of course my friends at church were entirely supportive saying that they’d give me a good “ribbing” and telling me that they’d nudge me if they needed anything. A friend in the Relief Society mentioned that they’d bring me a casserole. I said a double-brownie casserole would suit me just fine, thank you very much.

In an effort to find out as much as I could about the break, I checked WebMD. I often joke with Courtney that every “diagnosis” provided by Web MD is cancer. Still, it has some value…. Apparently I have six weeks of healing at least, and I get to “wait it out” so to speak. Joy. Outside of multiple fractures, the healing is largely done at home.

And such is life.

I once had a goal of making it through life without breaking a bone. I made it until I was about 24 when I dropped a pair of 45-lbs dumbbells on my hands (Hey Dave! Why do they call them dumbbells?). I only shattered two fingers. The other two fingers just kind of… popped. Now I can add a rib to the list of Things I’ve Broken.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broken Ribs: Part II

  1. Sarah L. says:

    I hope your list stops at that. No more breaking stuff!

  2. Laura G says:

    Part of the reason WebMd is so dangerous is because *every disease ever* has the symptoms of “Headache, nausea, fatigue.” So when you’re achy, nauseated, and tired, you could *literally* have anything from hay fever to leprosy. (And in my case, trying to figure out if I have a major sinus headache or a minor migraine is near-impossible.)

  3. daveloveless says:

    Amen to that, Laura. WebMD, more often than not, is a bit of crapshoot. You just never know what you’re going to get.

    Courtney and I had a stretch where we used WebMD and every single result came back cancer. It got to be a bit of a joke.

  4. nosurfgirl says:

    Yikes. Yikes, yikes yikes. I hope you heal fast, then. You’ve had a year of accidents!!

    Yeah… not much you can do with a broken rib even if it’s diagnosed. The only danger is if it punctures a lung. I actually mentioned to my mom (a nurse) at Christmas your experience and she told me that if you start experiencing a hard time breathing (like you can’t physically breathe in as much) you should go to the ER because you might have a collapsed lung. Other than that, they’d just send you home with some sympathy and perhaps a prescription for painkillers 🙂

    sad. Jeff has been practicing the wii all vacation… he’ll be rusty again by the time we can play. Lol. But then… so will you!!! (evil laugh).

Leave a Reply

