Update: Swine Flu

Katherine’s fever finally broke Sunday morning. It took three days, and we had a couple scares of 103+, but she’s feeling better. I think the sign that she was truly feeling well again was when we realized that her talking had increased from about 1 word a minute up to 150 with gusts approaching 300.

She’s still the only one that got sick, though several coworkers have called in this morning saying they were ill. I think I may have been a carrier…. Does it make me a bad person if I find that slightly humorous? 🙂

The worst part of the whole experience was that Katherine didn’t get to do anything for Halloween. She was most depressed by that. She’s been counting down for a long time, and the saddest part for me was coming home from work on Friday and finding her in her Halloween costume slumped on the couch. I think it had just set in that she was not going to go trick-or-treating, and she was truly heart broken. It made me want to reach up and pull down the moon for her….

I think we’re going to get together with Nosurfgirl’s family this weekend and do a mini-Halloween just for Katherine. Nosurfgirl has four daughters all around Katherine’s age, and I could just see the huge princess party that’s going to be with all of them dressed up and marching around the house trick-or-treating. We still haven’t carved our two pumpkins either, so we’ll hold those aside for this weekend as well. Should be fun, and Katherine will be thrilled to go trick-or-treating even if it isn’t really Halloween.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update: Swine Flu

  1. Anthony D. says:

    What horrible timing for a little girl to get sick on Halloween weekend! Let me know when you’re going to Nosurfgirl’s place and maybe I can come by!

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    😦 That almost made me teary eyed. I’m so glad we’re doing halloween again. Ant, come over around dinnertime 🙂 (Dave, if it’s OK… if your fam feels up to an extra visitor). We miss you!!!

  3. nosurfgirl says:

    Wait, I just realized. Are we doing this at your house, Dave, so that K can go trick or treating to neighbors? Sorry… didn’t mean to be inviting someone to your house!!!! I guess I just always assume ours, lol.

  4. Cami Kenworthy says:

    That is the most pathetic, sad, picture I have ever had in my head. A poor little princess who can’t go trick or treating. I hope she starts feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

