Swine Flu

It’s not quite official, but I’m calling it anyway.

Time of Arrival in the Loveless household: roughly 7:45 this morning.

Well, that’s when it first started showing anyway. Katherine came into our room at 6:00 this morning and crawled into bed with me. She likes to sleep in my arms when she’s not feeling well, so that was the first sign. After I left, Courtney got suspicious of Katherine’s behavior and took a temperature: 102. That combined with a serious case of lethargy, a lack of desire to eat, a strong dry cough, and a strong change for happy boisterous to constant sleepiness is enough for me.

It promises to be a long week, but we’re ready for it.

I never had aspirations that we’d avoid swine flu this year; It’s a new disease with no resistance in the human body. I wouldn’t be surprised to see total infection rates jump quite high around the world. I’m not really worried though. We’re all healthy and strong people, and I’ve hopefully passed the legendary Loveless immune system on to my children. And if I haven’t, there are plenty of worthy priesthood holders who will join me in blessing my family, and Courtney is a wonderful mommy-nurse.

Honestly, the only person I worry about is Myron. He’s still young enough to worry me, though I think even he will do just fine. The only other thing I worry about is me and my schedule. This week is ward conference, and I have a lot of things that need to get done in relation to callings and home teaching assignments, teaching on Sunday, and so on. I’ve decided that I’m going to head off to the church tonight to get as much done now just in case Katherine shares with the rest of us.

But the worst part of it all is that there is an extremely sad princess at home who is probably just now realizing that she doesn’t get to go to any of the Halloween parties (there were three) or trick-or-treating. She’s been counting down to this holiday for at least three weeks now. Once everyone is better, I think we’ll do a little mini-Halloween with some friends and have them go door to door around the house.

But for now, the H-word in our house is verbotten.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Swine Flu

  1. Laura G says:

    Hmm… This makes me think of the thing you mentioned in your last locked post — imagine the time constraints in the alternate possibility!

    Yes, that was obscure… If you don’t know what I’m talking about, ask and I’ll clarify.

  2. daveloveless says:

    You are so very right, Laura, and the more distant I move from that experience, the more grateful I am that I’m not dealing with it. 🙂

    I’m so interested in knowing what your theme is for your novel. You’ll have to let me know as soon as you are ready to share.

  3. Sarah L. says:

    Ugh! I hope you all make it through it OK. A friend who used to be in my ward has it. So far her kids are fine. Two other people in my ward got it and their kids didn’t. Prayers for you.

    I was reading that you can be contagious a day before symptoms appear.

  4. Sarah B says:

    Many families have had one person get sick and not the rest…consider gargling with warm salty water (or listerine), twice a day. Take Vitamin C and Zinc supplements. Put vaseline in your nostrils. And maybe, just maybe, you can make it through…Ward Conference.

  5. nosurfgirl says:

    So did you guys figure out what’s up yet? Did you get tested for the swine flu? Are you thinking more what you said yesterday, about a reaction to vacs? Does she still have a fever?

    And most importantly, did you guys weather Halloween all right??

    😦 I had an OK Halloween. Sort of. Long story… which you guys probably don’t need to hear. Suffice it to say, we would have had more fun with YOU GUYS. 🙂

Leave a Reply

