First haircut

I was in a bad mood last night, and for some reason, shaving my head always seems to be somewhat relaxing. I think it’s the “doing something” part. Since it had been several months since my last shaving, I decided to go for it.

Katherine and Myron both really like to watch me shave my head. They sat on the floor in the bathroom and watched and laughed as I’d shave my head on only the right side, ask them if I was done, and then shave just a bit more. Courtney, in the meantime, had left for her weekly night off.

Bad move.

As soon as I finished shaving my head, I looked around and noticed that Myron’s hair was a little long….

To make a long story short, shaving a 13-month-old child is a LOT harder than you might even imagine. First, kids that age want to see and touch. Each time the shaver would get close to his head, he’d try to look at it or touch it. He actually didn’t cry or fuss, but getting him to look the right way was nigh unto impossible.

Second, hair cuts are one thing. Haircuts that last longer than two minutes are another. By the time I was done, I had him in a body lock with my legs, my left arm was wrapped around his upper arms with my hand locking his head into a position in which I could finish the hair cut, and my right arm was frantically trying to finish the job before Child Welfare Services came pounding on the door.

Third, apparently moms are supposed to approve haircuts for their children. When Courtney came home, she said hi to me, hi to Katherine, and hi to Myron. Then she walked about 5 feet and whipped back around to stare at Myron.

Honestly, if she were a guy, she would never have noticed. As is, I was a dead man. Hey, I think he looks cute with a shaved head. 🙂

This entry was posted in Myron. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First haircut

  1. DWH says:

    Chalk one up for on-the-job-training! Remember, what’s the difference between a good haircut and a bad one? (about two weeks) However, if it was Myrons FIRST haircut, yup, moms do need to approve of it and typically are there for it! See ya when you get out of the dog house!
    DWH

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    Haha!!!! At least with the boy, it won’t take too long to grow back. But you guys might warm up to it. We had to shave our little boy’s head and it was soooooo cute I actually didn’t mind after the first week or so. 🙂

  3. Paul says:

    LoL. Yeah, I’m a little late coming to the story here, but that is funny. Very funny.

    Poor Courtney.

Leave a Reply

