Understanding the relationship of the Father and the Son

I’ve been thinking an awful lot about my own dad and some of the things he’s taught me. In particular, a phrase he mentioned just this past week (and many times before) has struck me again and again and again. He said something to the effect of, “Our earthly lives and structures are patterned after heavenly structures.” He was speaking, specifically, about the family and the way our homes should be set up.

Over the last few months, I’ve felt an honest, sincere yearning to be near my father. It is a yearning that is physical, but also spiritual, emotional, and mental. This morning, I woke up with an almost overwhelming want to sit at his feet, listen to him speak, and learn from him. He’s always been such an enormous man to me, and I admire him so deeply for his life, his sacrifices, and his work.

I think he is correct that our lives here are temporal patterns based on divine order and organization. As such, it is very easy for me to see why Christ always expressed such an open fondness for His own Father, and why His Father always expressed such immediate support for His Son. In the same ways that Christ longed to please, support, honor, and sustain His Heavenly Father, I want to please, support, honor, and sustain my earthly father.

The relationship of Christ and His Father as a familial relationship helps us understand the workings of the Atonement and the Plan of Salvation. As I said in an early post, I have difficulty believing that the Celestial Kingdom will not be the largest of all of God’s Kingdoms of Glory based simply on the idea of the family. If God were merely just a God, I could understand and accept a plan where many failed and few succeeded, but understanding that God is not just a God but rather a divine Father first, utterly rejects the notion that any creation, thought, ideology, or plan from Him would do anything but return the majority of His children home.

I thought about calling home this morning to my earthly father. It was very early, but I knew that he would be awake and ready for my call. And even if he wasn’t, I knew that he would still take it eagerly. I knew that I wouldn’t have anything really important to say, but I knew that he’d fill the time with words of encouragement, love, appreciation, humor, and hope even if nothing was ever really said. I knew that I’d come away from the experience better, stronger, and more prepared for whatever might come my way.

And of course, the thought hit me that our world and families are patterned after the richness of Christ’s own relationship with His Father. Knowing that and knowing my own feelings for the man I call Dad bears strong testimony to me of the richness of the plan, the completeness of the way, and the ability that I and all others have to reach out and find peace in the Arms of Safety.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Understanding the relationship of the Father and the Son

  1. Dad says:

    I have always tried to understand heaven in terms of mortality and mortality in terms of heaven. I am always intrigued by what I see as similarities in the two realms. It makes sense to me that if I want my children to learn to be like i need to put them in patterns and situations that are really like how I live. Granted there are limitations to how much alike they can be.

    I got this quote from an email. It is supposed to have been written by an eight year old boy for a school report about God.
    It is much longer, but this part seemed to fit with what you are saying about a Father/Son relationship.

    ‘Jesus is God’s Son. He used to do all the hard work, like walking on water and performing miracles and trying to teach the people who didn’t want to learn about God. They finally got tired of him preaching to them and they crucified him But he was good and kind, like his father, and he told his father that they didn’t know what they were doing and to forgive them and God said O.K.’

    ‘His dad (God) appreciated everything that he had done and all his hard work on earth so he told him he didn’t have to go out on the road anymore. He could stay in heaven. So he did. And now he helps his dad out by listening to prayers and seeing things which are important for God to take care of and which ones he can take care of himself without having to bother God. Like a secretary, only more important.’

    ‘You can pray anytime you want and they are sure to help you because they got it worked out so one of them is on duty all the time.’

    I loved it. Sounds like the God I worship – personal, kind, very loving, and quick to respond when I need help, pretty much like a Father.

Leave a Reply

