Movie Review: Push

We watched this one on the recommendation of a friend…. Note to self: Don’t trust that friend for movies.

The Good

The concept was interesting. Unfortunately, my own imagination of what I would have done with that concept was far more interesting than the actual movie.

And that concludes the “good.”

The Bad

Where to start? The plot line was disjointed, random, and so full of holes that I could have walked an elephant through it. Seriously. The method used for “overcoming” the watchers (you’ll understand what I mean if you watch it, and if you don’t, you won’t even care) was so entirely lame that I immediately became bored with the entire film.

The acting was mediocre at best, the screamers (you’ll get that too) were pathetic, and the purpose of the film was non-existent. There was never any reason to care about the characters at all, and the meager attempts to establish any kind of connection or understanding of their lives were so poorly done that you felt like a passing stranger rather than a partner in an adventure. Need I go on?

Yes indeed. Just one more thought; despite a start that promised a great deal of excitement, the film never coalesced into a unified whole that mattered. Nothing was accomplished at the end of the film except that they captured the item they were after, but what that item does, why they need it, and how it will help with anything is beyond me and, apparently, beyond the actual film itself. You walk away wondering why. Why you watched. Why you paid attention. And why you paid any amount of money to see it.

It’s apparent that this film is a set up for a sequel, but I won’t be seeing it.

Conclusion

It has taken over a year, but I’ve finally found a film I disliked more than Hancock. Not only is Push a terrible film, but I need to create a level below zero stars in order to properly rate it. Yes, I rate this film Nasty Dumb.

If you go see it, you can’t say I didn’t warn you.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie Review: Push

  1. Lora Leigh says:

    Good to know! I’ve been toying with the idea of renting it the last few times we’ve gone to Blockbuster. You were right about Hancock (oh were you ever…), so I’ll trust your judgment on this one! Thanks for saving me two hours of my life…

  2. Pingback: Movie Review: Skyline « the prodigal

Leave a Reply

