Movie Review: Knowing

Courtney and I are Nicolas Cage fans in the sense that he always seems to make a movie worthy of turning off your brain and watching some cool explosions for a while. He’s fun. Knowing was a film we’ve wanted to see since we first saw the previews, and it came out on RedBox last night.

The Good

Holy suspenseful. It’s not a scary movie necessarily, but Courtney did ask if we could snuggle on the same couch. The film was written in a creepy “we’re all going to die” sort of way, and I truly haven’t been that genuinely freaked out since Signs. And it’s not necessarily creepy or scary as much as it is just genuinely thrillingly suspenseful.

The scene with the plane crash (you should remember that from the trailers) is one of the most intense sequences ever filmed. It has to be. We watched it twice because it was so incredible. I have never seen a plane crash, but I have seen one explode while preparing to take off (KC-135 mid-flight refueler back in Alaska). This film took me straight back to that afternoon. Truly incredible.

The Bad

I have to put the plane crash scene right back here in the bad as well. It’s disturbing to say the least, but it’s accurate. If you are sensitive to that kind of stuff, DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM.

Some of the dialog was a bit stilted, but then again, this is a Nicolas Cage film, so that has to be expected. The boy was especially stilted at times.

Let’s see… The last five minutes are plain old lame. Seriously. However, if you are LDS, you’ll notice some interesting themes to those last few minutes that are enjoyable in a deeper level. You’ll also probably notice the “Together Forever” theme running through out the film.

Conclusion

If you like thrillers, I cannot recommend a more thrilling, suspenseful masterpiece. To be sure, this was thrilling in the same way that M. Night Shyamalan’s classics Signs and Sixth Sense were thrilling. Unlike your classic Nicolas Cage, this is not a film to turn your brain off, and the twists and turns take you by mild surprise each time. It goes weird at the very end and there are plenty of unanswered questions, but it’s a good film.

Oh, and for the first time since I am Legend, I did not sleep well after a movie.

If you like thrillers, it’s a definite 3.5 out of 4 stars. If you don’t, probably closer to 2.

I’ll give it a 3 simply because it’s still on my mind the next morning, and that rarely happens for me. Would I watch it again? Yes, with all the lights on.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Review: Knowing

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    This sounds like something Jeff would love and I would freak out about… how do we resolve this dilemma?

  2. marlajayne says:

    Thanks for this review. My husband and I were trying to decide between this and the Benjamin Button movies as a freebie on the movie channel, and this film sounds like a winner.

  3. Bob says:

    Jocelyn and I saw this in theaters (and I think it was also Jeremy’s first movie–he slept through the whole thing in his car seat).

    I absolutely loved it. I remember the plane crash scene very well myself and was absolutely stunned by the intensity of it. I remember wanting to rent the movie to watch that scene again, and hear director commentary on it.

    The disasters were done so well and realistically, and I loved how daring the filmmakers were with the ending.

Leave a Reply

