Addictions: And Away We Go!

I’ve finally figured out how I want to present this little series on addictions, at least, I think I’ve figured it out.

The Church provides a 12-step program based on the program used by Alcoholics Anonymous. The program is outlined in a short book produced by the Church with each chapter emphasizing a specific step, and it’s actually quite a pleasant read.

For this series, I plan on taking each chapter on its own, studying the materials, and then highlighting key points as well as adding my own commentary.

So 12 lessons over the next month or so. I’d start this week, but I’ve been asked to present four short 30-minute presentations on mental illness for my ward’s RS Super Saturday this weekend. That has to take priority for now.

This entry was posted in Addictions. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Addictions: And Away We Go!

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    Wow! You’re getting to be the go-to guy, huh? I think that’s great, especially if you like doing it. Me… I like to stay out of the radar for these kinds of things.

    Tell us how it goes. I look forward to reading the series, too. I have never read or studied the 12 step program. I imagine it has application in any person’s life.

  2. daveloveless says:

    It does, and that was one of the things I liked the most. As I read through it, I kept feeling like it really did apply to just about any aspect from conquering addictions to just being a better person.

    I’m not sure that “go-to guy” is what’s happening, but I’m very open about mental illness, and I love to talk about the subject. It’s been too hidden for too long and we would all benefit greatly by moving it out into the open where we can see it in its true light.

  3. Sarah L. says:

    A counselor friend of mine said regarding a manual (I think it’s that one) that someone in The First Presidency thought it would be helpful for everyone to go through the steps. We all have character flaws to deal with.

  4. kelly miller says:

    I went through the book and wrote poems to the whole thing. I would be interested to know what you think of them. I have actually gone to the meetings- life has a way of recycling the need… I had gone years ago during my divorce and thought it tremendous- even though it was not through the church. The twelve steps are so gospel oriented, there is a special spirit felt. But, when I went a few years ago, in a church setting, I was immediately hit with the spirit. It was such a memorable thing to be reading the Book of Mormon along with the 12 steps. It is changing lives and strengthening those who have long term needs. Addictive personalities and the recycling effect in relationships are an endurance struggle.

  5. aleisha says:

    looking forward to it. is the short book available on the lds.org website?

  6. daveloveless says:

    Hey Aleisha. Yes, I put the link to that book up in the post. Go check it out.

    Kelly–Thanks for the comments, and yes, I’d love to see what you wrote. Is it on your blog?

  7. kelly miller says:

    They can be found under the label
    addiction recovery program
    I would love to know what you think
    also I read a book
    A Brain Gone Wrong – Hope for the Troubled Teen
    by W. Dean Belnap
    that is wonderful and I wrote a poem based on some of its information
    http://ldspoetrybykellymiller.blogspot.com/search/label/addiction%20recovery%20program

  8. Pingback: Behavior Change Myths: Part 1–Will Power « the prodigal

Leave a Reply

