Oreo Truffles

This weekend is the annual Manly Man Feast in the Elders Quorum. As the reigning champ two years running (I won the top prize the first year and took first in my category last year), I have a reputation to uphold.

For those of you who might not remember, the Manly Man Feast is where the elders cook and the sisters judge. The evening is dominated with manly things like sports trivia and power tools. One year, the activities committee went so far as to create center pieces using “bouquets” of screw drivers. It’s always fun.

My entry this year and, I might add, the upcoming champion in the dessert category, is Oreo Truffles. Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 pkg of Oreos–Using the double-stuffed makes everything extra creamy
  • 8 oz Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1 pkg of melting chocolate or chocolate chips

Melt the chocolate using a double-boiler or other means. Be careful not to get the chocolate too hot; you’ll be dipping your fingers in it in just a minute.

Crush the Oreos using a food processor until you get fine crumbs (no large chunks). Combine the crushed Oreos with the cream cheese and mix until combined. Using your hands, roll the Oreo mix into small balls about an inch to an inch and a half in diameter (about the size of a cherry chocolate).

Using your fingers, dip the balls into the melted chocolate and place them on a cookie sheet covered in wax paper. Throw the balls into the fridge to set for at least an hour.

Serve, enjoy, repeat as often as you like.

As a variation, roll the freshly dipped balls in nuts, coconut, candy sprinkles, or toffee chips.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oreo Truffles

  1. Sarah Bailey says:

    Wow. Now I’m hungry.

  2. Sarah says:

    That sounds Satanic. I want some.

  3. Lora Leigh says:

    I’ve had these before, and they are fantastic. I really like them in white chocolate too!

    Good luck, Dave. It’s probably for the best that you didn’t decide to make gravy for the contest… hehehe. You know I’ll never let you forget it!

  4. Cami says:

    I have also had these. Tasty!

    When is this feast? I don’t remember it being announced itn church. I want to be there.

  5. daveloveless says:

    Ah yes… we can’t forget the gravy can we? I’m not sure if I’ve told that story on my blog yet, and I don’t think I’m going to start now. 🙂

    Cami–It’s tomorrow night at 5:30.

  6. nosurfgirl says:

    You mean you’re not making your famous blue-cheese Kipper omelets???

    (btw, if there are any left over… nah. I won’t get my hopes up.)

  7. daveloveless says:

    STOP BRINGING UP MY FAILED ATTEMPTS AT COOKING!!! 🙂

    You guys make me laugh…. And no, I’m not even going to try to explain away the blue cheese kipper omelets. There was just no excuse for that one.

  8. Sarah says:

    Who doesn’t like gravy bricks?

Leave a Reply

