The anticipation of life

I don’t know about you, but for the last few months, the weeks seem to both blur and slow down. I’m always so surprised to find myself coming back to work Monday morning, but I find myself equally surprised to find myself standing up to go home on Friday. I think that might be a sign of the rote in life.

If there were something to get me excited about life in general, I think that would help. And that’s not saying that there isn’t plenty to be excited about. There is, and I enjoy every moment and every breath, but the anticipation of life isn’t really here right now.

So what do you do to get the anticipation of life? I’ve never been one to wake up in the morning with that smile and rush of excitement for a day yet to unfold. Rather, I just get up and take a shower.

Life, like most things in it, benefits from the occasional change and shake up.

Maybe I should call Courtney and tell her I’m going to have a mid-life crisis…. That only leaves, as far as I’m aware, one last question to be answered:

Do I want the red or blue sports car?

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The anticipation of life

  1. Sarah says:

    I thought this was going to be a pregnancy announcement!

    : O

    Dave, I always like to have something planned to look forward to. It could be something little or big. Surprising Matt is fun. I saw the funniest thing on a friend’s blog. Her husband fixed her broken necklace and laid it out on the bathroom counter a long with a message spelled out with Q-Tips, “I love you.”

  2. daveloveless says:

    No… no pregnancy announcement. 🙂

    That’s a real cool idea. Maybe I can go break one of Courtney’s necklaces so that I can go fix it…. Normally there is always something waiting in the wings, but not so much lately. I guess I’ll just have to find something. For me, just talking about it normally helps me get more motivated (like today). Suddenly life is full of anticipation.

    Of course, part of that may be that our daffodils are running amok and our tulips are just starting to burst with vibrant blossoms. Gotta love the tulips.

  3. Sarah says:

    Dave, you guys should come up for the Tulip Festival here! I’ve never been, but am hoping to. It’s happening right now. Everyone gets gorgeous pictures of their families sitting in the middle of rows and rows of tulips.

  4. marlajayne says:

    Last night I started reading this book called The Phantom Tollbooth, and although I haven’t gotten very far (page 80), I think this book might have a message for you. Plus, as a “word person,” some parts of it will delight you.

  5. nosurfgirl says:

    marla… I love that book! I Read it over and over as a child…

Leave a Reply

