A random fit of depression

Last week, my work hosted a bowling tournament. I love bowling, and I’m normally a fairly good bowler (right around 150). However, this is the first time I have bowled in about 4 years, and I was also being extremely careful because I’m just now coming off of having the whiplash.

Let’s just say that I pretty much single-handedly kept my team from advancing out of the first round. Fortunately, I had a fairly good-natured team, but still….

To console myself, that night I challenged Katherine to a bowling tournament on the Wii at home. Final score?

Dave: 131

Katherine: 135

But the best part of it all was that she sat there very quietly after the game with the fanfare playing on the TV. She didn’t even look up at me, and we had this short conversation….

Katherine: Daddy?

Me: Yes, Katherine.

Katherine: I beat you.

Thanks….

This entry was posted in Katherine, The Office. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A random fit of depression

  1. Doc says:

    That sounds like an “aawww” cute moment that ought to pull any Dad out of depression. My 4 year old wins bowling on the Wii all the time. I think it’s a height thing.

  2. daveloveless says:

    True. It should. Sounds like both our four-year-olds beat us pretty consistently at bowling.

    Courtney happened to be in another room, and she just about died laughing. Katherine’s declaration that she beat me was so innocent and the timing was just perfect.

  3. Sarah says:

    Hahahahahahahahahaha!

    I can just picture it.

  4. marlajayne says:

    Hmmm. Let’s see if there’s a way to turn a negative into a positive. There’s the fact that Katherine got to feel fantastic, right?

  5. Sarah Bailey says:

    You can take pride in the fact that she has good grammar. I’ve heard many kids exclaim, “I won you.”

  6. daveloveless says:

    Let’s see… finding the positives…. She didn’t rub it in as much as she could have? She did give me a hug that night? 🙂

    Sarah Bailey–yes indeed. Good grammar is a minor must. I try not to worry about it too much since she is only 4, but the editor in me sometimes roars to life. Fortunately, the linguist in me normally beats the editor back in to submission.

Leave a Reply

