My thoughts on the AIG bonuses

I’ve been really bothered by the bonuses in two ways. First, I’m annoyed they happened, but I recognize the fact that they were established and contracted well before the crisis. They are legal, legitimate, and deserved and as such, should be paid. Second, I’m annoyed at the response from the nation and the government. It’s outrageous to think that we can levy a “special” tax of 90% on anyone, though I do feel the general frustration that tax dollars are supporting seemingly inflated salaries. The tax is absolutely ridiculous, shameful, and a wonderfully dangerous precedent to establish.

While I certainly have little respect for those who helped bring about this mess, taxing the wealthy will not and cannot fix the economy. It removes drive. It removes hope. It removes any expectation of reward for hard work. It drives us deeper into the welfare state we are quickly becoming where all problems are fixed by Big Brother based more on how loud we scream than on how much we work and achieve.

I have no doubt that Obama and many others are well-intentioned people doing what they feel is best. I have no doubt that Obama and many others are standing by their principles in an honest, open effort to do what they feel is best for this nation. Unfortunately, I soundly disagree with them on many, but not all, of their actions. I soundly disagree with the magnitude of the spending coming out of Washington, especially since it is all on a borrowed dime that may not have a future. I disagree with the magnitude of the bailouts. I disagree with the mortgage being levied against my childrens’ futures.

And I’m really at a loss at this point as to what more I can do. The people of this nation have made their choice, and I respect and stand by it. That is one of the benefits and misfortunes of democracy. I voted, I expressed my opinion, and I did not win, but I am willfully and happily bound by the general voice. I expected that and I agreed to that condition come what may.

But I fear what may come, and have no real expectation of any success to be found on Capitol Hill. The only success and hope I see lies in my own hands and faith to do what is right, continue to work, and continue to pray. Pray for both myself and for those who are making these choices. We, as a nation, enabled them, and now we, as a nation, must make our voices heard and our opinions noted.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My thoughts on the AIG bonuses

  1. Sarah says:

    I agree. There’s no motivation to do better for yourself when the government is just going to take the money away. Why work harder? Rich people spending their money stimulates the economy.

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    It’s outrageous to think that we can levy a “special” tax of 90% on anyone,

    Yup. It sure is.

Leave a Reply

