Speaking of driving….

I promise Katherine wasn’t driving, so it wasn’t Katherine’s fault. Fortunately, it wasn’t my fault either, but we had a car accident Saturday morning. Pretty minor really, and, again, fortunately I was the only one in the car.

I once heard the statistic that the vast majority of car accidents happen within a quarter mile of home. I have now had two accidents in my life; the first happened literally 45 feet off my front porch, and this one was all of a block and a half away.

The other driver apparently thought we had a four-way stop (nope; only her side), stopped, and then went. An understandable accident to say the least, and I’m glad that everyone is well. I have a habit of driving the streets around my home going around 15 mph. There are far too many pedestrians, hyper college students, and inexperienced drivers for me to believe going much faster is going to do any good for me or anyone else. Low speed and the fact that the other driver was coming off a stop sign saved us from any huge damage that we know of. Tomorrow will tell for sure when I take the car in to the adjuster.

I was hit dead-on the right passenger wheel, and I’m concerned about alignment problems. I also noticed that the Electronic Stability Control system was broken this morning. I don’t think the axle is bent, but I am noticing a pretty good pull to the right now. The only other damage is a long scrape down the side of the car. No huge dent that I can tell, but I’d imagine they’ll have to do a little body work.

For what it was, it could have been much worse.

And I try not to laugh, but I got a royal scolding from an all-too concerned red-head when I got home who was sure that I was dead in a ditch somewhere. But my favorite scolding was from Katherine. We had been planning on going to see Grandma and Grandpa that day, and the car accident canceled that. Through out the day, Katherine kept asking me when we were going to go, and I’d reply that we couldn’t because the car was broken. She asked many times, and finally, at the end of the day, it sunk in that we weren’t going to go. She looked me straight in the face and very sternly… well, as sternly as a four-year-old can… said, “That’s a bad daddy to crash the car!”

Indeed. My most humblest of apologies.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Speaking of driving….

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m glad you’re Ok!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I”m so sorry!!! ON the whiplash… I’ll ask Jeff to comment when he comes home tonight. He doesn’t have much time to blog, so he usually doesn’t check them, but I’m sure he’ll have something to say. 🙂

  3. Cami says:

    I have been in several (I won’t tell you how many) car accidents. I will email you advice.

    Katherine is hilarious! As if you could help that you crashed the car.

  4. Jeffrey says:

    My condolences. I hope you recover from the trauma.

    I’m glad the perp stayed around. I had someone ram me on the front-driver’s side wheel a few years ago and he drove off immediately. He hit me at about 5mph, while I sat in a left turn lane by DI. The car was fortunate; the hub cap was shattered, and there was a 1″ touch on the wheel well. But the coward was nowhere to be found in less time than I could turn around and follow.

    I eventually found the car (with its tell-tale scratches) in the Riverside Condos, and through sleuthing, I found out that the driver had borrowed the car from his girl friend. I eventually let it go and never confronted him. I left him to his shame.

    Do you feel a new sense of fragility about automobiles? They really have egg shell bodies.

Leave a Reply

