Seeking the Lord’s Blessing

I wanted to follow my last post up with something that has come to mind frequently over the last few months.

In all the trials we and others have faced over the last few years, I’ve felt an enduring sense of calm and peace. I’m reminded most distinctly of President Hinckley’s words a few years ago where he stated in response to a question of the future that we should continue to raise our families, we should continue to save for retirement, we should continue to be happy and productive, and we should continue to live.

Despite the veritable host of trials that have fallen on our shoulders over the last year, we are encouraged by the fact that all is currently well and that all was well then and all will be well later. We are encouraged by the privilege we have of sincerely asking and then receiving required blessings and inspiration. As I knelt in prayer with my wife last night seeking answers to our current crisis, I was struck by an almost overwhelming feeling of assurance that I mattered and that no matter the end results of this physical life, we would and could find peace. No specific answers, but I don’t know that we need those just yet. We have asked, the assurance that all will be well has come, and we will wait on the Lord while acting and doing in faith.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seeking the Lord’s Blessing

  1. Lora Leigh says:

    Well-spoken, Dave.

    Your blog gives me a boost almost every time I read it. Thanks.

  2. daveloveless says:

    Almost every time? Almost?!!!!

    You make me laugh, Lora. Now if you and your hubby would just move back to Utah, we’d all be a lot happier.

  3. Lora Leigh says:

    Well, I couldn’t say “always”. I mean, how often does anything ALWAYS do something? Besides, it would have gone straight to your head…

    As for moving back to Utah, weren’t you just telling me how Logan has some definite drawbacks? 🙂 See you in a week.

  4. daveloveless says:

    Okay… You’re right that it would have gone straight to my head. I can’t argue with your decision there I suppose.

    Now before you get me in trouble with all the people who love Logan… I DO TOO!!! Cache valley is one of those rare places where God spent just a little more time making it just a little more beautiful and special. That being said, it is colder and more susceptible to inversion, definite negatives in my book. It also has a pretty low-paying job market. I’ve seen several posts seeking technical writers with 3 years+ experience and a degree for only $10 an hour. Those same qualifications would pull at least double that in SLC.

    Honestly, Lora, you’re going to get the Logan-ites storming my house if you’re not careful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

