A little bit of the random…

Late February and early March are always some of my favorite times of the year. This is that time when you find yourself looking out the window and just sighing… you know it’s coming.

I don’t know what it is about Spring, but I get almost giddy when I see the buds on the trees and the tulips poking through the ground. Easter is easily my second favorite holiday right after Christmas, and, at certain times, it is my favorite. There’s just something very natural to me about thinking of the Savior and remembering His life when you see the world renewed and reborn each Spring. Something special and happy.

Our tulips are about 2 inches tall now, and the daffodils are poking out as well. All the trees on my daily lunch walk are starting to poke the first hints of leaves out, and the grass has perked up a little and greened a lot. It all makes me want to dig my hands deep into the earth and feel the vibrancy of life and growth under my feet.

Yes, it is Spring again, and despite the snow flurries that are surely still to come, you can smell the life in the air.

This entry was posted in Random Reachings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A little bit of the random…

  1. marlajayne says:

    I know what you mean. I’ve been staying with my daughter for a few days to help her out a bit after the birth of her fourth child. She lives outside of Savannah, so things happen (seasonly) a little earlier than in the midlands of SC where I live. This morning I woke to the sounds of birds singing, and when I went for a walk/job, I saw pink buds on crepe (sp.?) myrtle trees.

    About the Easter vs. Christmas as favorite holidays, my sisster and I have had that conversation many times. Hands down, Easter wins for her, but for me it’s a tie.

  2. marlajayne says:

    Make that “walk/jog” and “sister.”

  3. nosurfgirl says:

    Our daffodils are poking out of the ground, too, and likely screaming in silent pain as I unearth them with a shovel and toss them callously onto an ever-growing pile. We’re leaving only the ones around the edge, because we want a bigger vegetable garden this year. But I’m feeling sad about having to do it… tulips are also a favorite of mine.

  4. Sarah Bailey says:

    The sun is up. I love waking up to light and getting home in the light. I’m trying not to be jealous of the green grass and flowers.

  5. Laura G says:

    Meanwhile, we’re in the middle of a snowstorm. Aren’t we supposed to get spring before you? 🙂

  6. Robert says:

    Yes, here in D.C. we got the worst snowstorm of the year. And on the day my “spring break” started.

    Still, what makes me most excited about this time of year is the anticipation of General Conference. I don’t know why, but April Gen. Conference is the thing I look forward to the most throughout January, February, and March.

Leave a Reply

