My thoughts on the State of the Union address

Here are my thoughts on the things that stick out to me as I read it. Sorry for the very random mess….

There is something I absolutely admire in Obama–his unfailing belief that we will succeed and come out of this recession stronger. I find a healthy disagreement as to what we’ll come out looking like, but I can’t and won’t take anything from his optimism. I wish I and many others more closely mirrored that level of hope and optimism.

To quote Obama talking about his mortgage plan:

It’s a plan that won’t help speculators or that neighbor down the street who bought a house he could never hope to afford.

I’m very interested to see how he plans to verify and control access to these mortgage funds. While I’m willing to be a part of helping those who truly need and deserve that help, I’m reticent to help the two groups listed in the above quote because, in my opinion, their situation was caused more by greed and poor financial planning than anything else.

This time, CEOs won’t be able to use taxpayer money to pad their paychecks, or buy fancy drapes, or disappear on a private jet. Those days are over.

Can I get an amen? My only complaint here is that this level of transparency should have been put in place with the initial bailout last Fall, but that is not Obama’s miss. That would be Pelosi, Reid, and Bush.

But I also know that, in a time of crisis, we cannot afford to govern out of anger or yield to the politics of the moment.

Excellent. I hope in the government’s panic to solve this crisis they remember this statement. Personally, I feel the stimulus was an emotional response to the crisis that should have been debated, discussed, and tested rather than rushed through Congress.

We will double this nation’s supply of renewable energy in the next three years. We’ve also made the largest investment in basic research funding in American history, an investment that will spur not only new discoveries in energy, but breakthroughs in medicine, in science and technology.

Do this and you will probably have my vote in four years.

I ask this Congress to send me legislation that places a market-based cap on carbon pollution and drives the production of more renewable energy in America. That’s what we need.

I’m not entirely sure I agree with carbon caps. It strikes me too much of carbon credits like we see in the EU. That’s not to say that we need to reduce our carbon emissions, but I’d really like more information before I weigh in too heavily on this one.

This is a prescription for economic decline, because we know the countries that out-teach us today will out-compete us tomorrow. That is why it will be the goal of this administration to ensure that every child has access to a complete and competitive education, from the day they are born to the day they begin a career. That is a promise we have to make to the children of America.

I absolutley agree with this, but I am interested to see how he does this. He has laid a plan for tax cuts for college, a good thing, but how do we get the kids into college in the first place? I don’t think Obama is striking deep enough at the issue. In my opinion, the problems we see in our college and high school graduation rates are symptoms of problems in the earlier years of school, and the solution lies in those earlier years. Personally, I think the solution really lies in the homes of the students more than schools. Teachers can only do so much when there is no support at home.

And dropping out of high school is no longer an option. It’s not just quitting on yourself; it’s quitting on your country. And this country needs and values the talents of every American.

Yes!

In the end, there is no program or policy that can substitute for a parent, for a mother or father who will attend those parent-teacher conferences, or help with homework, or turn off the TV, put away the video games, read to their child.

I speak to you not just as a president, but as a father, when I say that responsibility for our children’s education must begin at home. That is not a Democratic issue or a Republican issue. That’s an American issue.

I obviously spoke much too soon about him not pushing education to the home. I really don’t know how to respond to that one except an extremely boisterous and vocal WOO HOO!!! As a father myself, I hope every parent who heard those words committed to doing just a little more for their kids.

I held a fiscal summit where I pledged to cut the deficit in half by the end of my first term in office.

If I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard a politician use a phrase like that one…. 🙂

I will soon announce a way forward in Iraq that leaves Iraq to its people and responsibly ends this war.

If Obama can responsibly end the war, I’m all for it, but I’m absolutely opposed to leaving what we started half finished. Wrong or right, we started it, and we have the moral obligation to leave Iraq in a position for peace and prosperity.

There are surely times in the future where we will part ways. But I also know that every American who is sitting here tonight loves this country and wants it to succeed.

Thanks for that. I know that I won’t always agree with Obama just like I didn’t always agree with Bush. But I’m fast learning that while I have ideas that I think could work and could help, I’m not privy to all the information nor the entire situation. I hope I’m wise enough to recognize that while I have my opinions, just because they are mine doesn’t make them right anymore than they make Obama’s or anyone else’s wrong. At the end of the day, I pray for this nation just like he does.

And that’s the end…. I would have very much liked to have it seen it.

I think he did well. I would have liked to see more information on certain programs, but I’m still thinking about what he said about education starting in the home. It’s the part of this speech that rings truest and loudest. Our Church has long taught that the family is the fundamental unit of society, and I believe that. I’m glad that Obama seems to believe that, too.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My thoughts on the State of the Union address

  1. Sarah says:

    I think he is a very good speaker and I like his ideas (but am worried about removal of our troops), but I don’t know how he expects to cover the costs of everything he wants. It would be nice though.

    Yes, we need healthcare reform. Definitely.

  2. Laura G says:

    Did you happen to read the Republican Rebuttle? I’d be interested to hear what you thought of that. (Personally, I thought it was a good speech poorly given, so it might be stronger in the written form.)

  3. daveloveless says:

    Thanks Laura G. I had forgotten about the rebuttal. I posted it.

    Dave

  4. nosurfgirl says:

    I had much the same feelings you did. If he can get everything done he says he can, I will be very, very happy. If he can do it without bankrupting our economy, I’ll be even happier.

    If he can go further than reducing the current “spending deficit” (not hard to do by any standars) and completely ELIMINATE spending deficits (or at least be significantly nearer to that goal than presidents lately have been), I’ll be even happier.

    IF he could eliminate the spending deficit and start taking a chunk out of the NATIONAL deficit, I will vote for him even if he wears a dress, 6-inch heels, and funny nose-glasses to the presidential debates.

Leave a Reply

