And the Republican Rebuttal….

Laura G reminded me that I needed to do the Republican Rebuttal offered by Gov. Jindal to Obama’s speech, so here we go. Same format as I did for Obama….

Where we agree, Republicans must be the president’s strongest partners. And where we disagree, Republicans have a responsibility to be candid and offer better ideas for a path forward.

I think a lot of people forget this principle when it comes to government. Where consensus can be gained, that is an obvious and productive goal. Where it cannot, the dissenting minority has a responsibility to offer solutions and opinions that further progress and dialog. Unfortunately, it seems that both parties, when in the minority, seem to take the path of whining babies more than truly seeking progression. I’m all for constructive dissent when that dissent leads to greater honesty, improved policies, and a more unified end result.

The strength of America is not found in our government. It is found in the compassionate hearts and the enterprising spirit of our citizens.

Yes. One thing that deeply concerns me about the bailouts we’ve seen over the last year and will continue to see is the level of control and oversight the government is taking in companies and industries. Some may argue that is necessary, and frankly, I’m not aware enough of the details to really argue against it except to say that I don’t like it. I think most of that comes from past experience which shows the government to be a bloated organization that has a fiscal history of running in the red. To put it another way, if the government were a business, it would have folded a dozen times over. Do we have any reason to expect they’ll do better in other industries?

That is why Republicans put forward plans to create jobs by lowering income tax rates for working families, cutting taxes for small businesses, strengthening incentives for businesses to invest in new equipment and hire new workers, and stabilizing home values by creating a new tax credit for home-buyers. These plans would cost less and create more jobs.

Given the choice between the stimulus that was passed and this plan, I like this one better because it puts the power of changing the nation in my hands rather than in the hands of Big Brother. There is more to be gained through my own labors and work than the government’s work.

Who among us would ask our children for a loan, so we could spend money we do not have, on things we do not need? That is precisely what the Democrats in Congress just did. It’s irresponsible. And it’s no way to strengthen our economy, create jobs, or build a prosperous future for our children.

And that, in a nutshell, describes my primary concerns about the stimulus and the other plans that have and will come out of Washington. Debt in any form is irresponsible at this point.

Increase our use of nuclear power.

Now there is a touchy subject for some… and I absolutely agree with Jindal. I’m less fond of other proposals in his laundry list of ways to solve the energy crisis such as increased drilling. While oil is certainly the energy of today and some new drilling is justifiable, I would rather see the bulk of the billions of dollars we would spend drilling new oil sources go to producing alternative sources of energy. Alternative energy is rapidly on its way to becoming standard energy, and we can either be there when it happens or get caught in the fossil fuel age.

[Republicans] stand for universal access to affordable health care coverage. What we oppose is universal government-run health care. Health care decisions should be made by doctors and patients, not by government bureaucrats.

Agreed. Nuf said.

We believe that, with the proper education, the children of America can do anything.

Agreed, but I didn’t really see a plan here. Jindal described what he did in Louisiana post-Katrina, but didn’t really give details or otherwise describe how that could be implemented nation-wide nor how that benefited his state. I need more details.

Now is no time to dismantle the defenses that have protected this country for hundreds of years, or make deep cuts in funding for our troops.

As a military brat, I strongly agree with this statement, but I also don’t recall Obama saying he was going to dismantle anything except that he wanted to be out of Iraq in about 18 months. In fact, I recall Obama stating that he was going to increase funding. Did I miss something somewhere?

In all these areas, Republicans want to work with President Obama. We appreciate his message of hope, but sometimes it seems we look for hope in different places. Democratic leaders in Washington — they place their hope in the federal government. We place our hope in you, the American people. In the end, it comes down to an honest and fundamental disagreement about the proper role of government. We oppose the National Democratic view that says the way to strengthen our country is to increase dependence on government. We believe the way to strengthen our country is to restrain spending in Washington, to empower individuals and small businesses to grow our economy and to create jobs.

Lots of stuff to sort through here…. Yes, I agree in a bipartisan government. Yes, I too appreciate his message of hope. I’m not absolutely convinced that Democrats place their hope in the federal government, though I will state that I believe they place more hope in the federal government than Republicans. I also appreciated that Jindal pointed out that the disagreement is an honest difference of opinion. Like I posted in my review of Obama’s speech, I fail to see where any one party is completely right or completely wrong. Rather, they are different, and I hope I’m wise enough to recognize that differences are often good things, and they can lead to a better result if given the chance.

Certainly we have two different ideas on how to fix the economy at play here between our two major parties. I’ll admit a vibrant disappointment and frustration at the partisan passing of the stimulus, something I would feel if a Republican-dominated government had done the same. I hope that future efforts involve combined discussions about how this nation can best be served. Anything short of that fails to recognize the wisdom of listening to other ideas.

Republicans lost your trust — and rightly so.

I’m not sure what to say to this except yes. In general, you did. In my opinion, almost everyone in Washington did. Whether or not I agree with everything the Republican party says, I hope you meant it when you said you and the party were going to return to their principles because we could use that right now from all of our elected officials. Lead the way; others will follow.

Overall, a good speech. I would have liked to see more direct responses to some of Obama’s points, but given the speedy nature of the rebuttal, that’s probably just not possible. Between the two of them, I’d call it a draw on merit, but both were successful at giving a measure of hope regarding the direction of this nation, at least on the surface. There are plenty of things in both speeches to take with a measure of pessimism, and it is obvious that partisan-politics aren’t going away any time soon, but we can always hope.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And the Republican Rebuttal….

  1. Laura G says:

    Thanks, Dave. I agree with most of your points on the speech.

    I was disappointed with his delivery. The tone of his voice reminded me of a host of a PBS kids’ show. When he made a point and then paused, I kept expecting the camera to pan over to some puppets for their reaction.

    Then again, that would have been awesome.

  2. daveloveless says:

    Wow…. I wish I would have watched it now. It reads really well, but I think I could also stand to look at some cute little puppies.

    Thanks for the laugh.

Leave a Reply

