Misspelling my name

You would not believe how often people misspell my last name. You’d think it were simple, but I think that people are honestly surprised and hesitant to actually spell my name as it is because “it sounds bad.” Loveless. I guess I can roll with that.

I’ve seen it spelled Lovelace, Lovess, and even Douglas. Misspellings, or rather, “hesitancy to spell it correctly” is common enough that I’ve taken to spelling it out when I have to give my name to someone.  Even then, I can’t begin to count the number of times it is misspelled.

So it was to my great astonishment when I saw someone misspell my first name. Really. Someone misspelled “Dave.”

Deve. Yep. Deve.

How on earth do you misspell Dave? And furthermore, if someone gave you a name and you thought you heard Deve, wouldn’t you question it? I would, but maybe that’s just me.

On the interesting side, my current work has six or seven “Dave’s” out of a total employee population of around 100. It’s a common joke that when we are looking for someone to blame, you blame “Dave” or “Joe” (there are four Joe’s as well). At one point, there were three “Dave’s” on my team of only six people plus one Joe. It is bad enough that most of the Dave’s have taken to using another appellation to avoid confusion.

I have the very bad feeling that my attempts to avoid the appellation are going to come crashing down once “Deve” gets out. It could be much worse I suppose, and if they insist, maybe I can get it shortened to just Dev. Dev is better than Deve.

Much better.

But my name is still Dave… and don’t you forget it!

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Misspelling my name

  1. Sarah says:

    It’s kind of funny. If our last name were Lovelace, wouldn’t we be kind of insulted if people called us Loveless?

    And yet we are Loveless.

    At my 1st doctor visit while pregnant with Carmen, the doctor said, “I think your name should be LoveMORE …..”

    Other people have called me Lovesalot. And some say my name sounds like a stage name.

    You wouldn’t believe how many people don’t know how to spell Sarah. I tell them, “Sarah with an H”. “Sahra?” “No …..” “Shara?” “No!”

    Oh my gosh. How hard is it? Deve? Seriously? Is there anyone on the planet named Deve?

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    Daver, Deve, and Dal.

    Names from one of my most favorite books which, as a serious author, I will not admit to liking or owning.

    Can I call you Daver?

  3. daveloveless says:

    Uh… no. You may not call me Daver. I would much rather you call me Mr. Bartimus Lancilious Conkshell.

  4. nosurfgirl says:

    Wow.

    I hope you write a story based around that name someday.

  5. Paul says:

    All, righty then Daver. You know, all you had to do was let me know it is a pet peeve…. I’m malicious like that.

Leave a Reply

