Coldplay… Where have you gone?

I’ve been waiting long and patiently for the latest Coldplay album, Viva La Vida, to come my way. It’s been out for a while, but I don’t buy CDs anymore because they make good gift ideas for Christmas and birthdays. I finally got my hands on my own copy over Christmas and… I’m sad.

X&Y, their previous album, was an incredible piece of art. In fact, it is one of the few albums that I have that I would honestly say is best as a whole because each song plays off the others, and there is a real story being told. It’s not the best album I own, but I’d certainly place it in my top 20, if not the top 10.

But Viva La Vida…? With the exception of the title track, which is solid, and a few other songs, I was left really cold by most of the album. It just wasn’t that good. I’m a big fan of Coldplay and have been since before Parachutes hit the scene back in 2001, but Viva La Vida was sure a sour kick to the teeth, especially after the broad success of Rush of Blood and X&Y.

Maybe a second time through will help….

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coldplay… Where have you gone?

  1. Sarah says:

    I felt the same, but I’m still wondering if it will grow on me. 🙂

  2. daveloveless says:

    Okay, so I’ve forced Viva La Vida down my throat a few more times. While a few songs still grate on me, I’m more fond of the entire album. I’d put it as their third best album (they have four) with Parachutes picking up the final spot.

  3. Cami kenworthy says:

    I felt the same the first time I heard it. Now I love it and can’t get the songs out of my head!

Leave a Reply

