Wii-itis

I hope you all had an excellent Christmas. We sure did. It was our first Christmas officially “on our own,” and I remember putting the kids to bed Christmas Eve night and then wondering “now what?” We ended up watching a favorite movie from yesteryear and then going to bed.

It was nice to do Christmas on our own. Calmer, more relaxed, and quieter. I certainly missed the family and the games that normally come with Christmas, but it was time for our own traditions. And we talked to our families and that was enough for us. We kept a lot of what was common to both our families, but we also tried to add our own traditions that will hopefully make the day extra special. One thing that we did that was new was a daddy breakfast. I remember my own father making breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday mornings when I was growing up, and I took one of those peculiarly “daddy” dishes and made it for Christmas Morning breakfast. I wanted it to become a meal that the family identified with Christmas Morning. I hope it worked.

One of the surprise gifts we got was a Wii from Courtney’s parents. We had mentioned it in passing but always followed it up with a “don’t worry about it because it’s too expensive.” But there it was in the bottom of the box. We’ve wanted one for a long time, but could never justify it, so we were especially pleased.

We pulled it out and played a few hours the first day, and that’s when I caught a serious case of Wii-itis. If you’re not familiar with the Wii, the Wii uses sensors to determine where the remote is positioned in relation to the Wii. This lets you play certain sports like baseball and tennis with a fair amount of realism. It also subjects the user to the muscle strains and pulls common to tennis and other sports. Let’s just say I’m obviously out of shape when it comes to swinging a tennis racket, even a fake one. The sore muscles were bad enough that they led to a monstrous tension headache the next day, and I spent all of today using massagers and heating pads to work it all out.

But was it worth it?

Yes… yes it was.

The Wii is pricey (especially if you get 4 controllers and all the accessories that really let you experience some of the games), but it is a lot of fun.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wii-itis

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    awww…. well, actually I think this post upped my opinion of fitness video games. Yay for real-world value!

  2. marlajayne says:

    Sounds as if you had a great Christmas. It’s a bit hard to know exactly what to do when you’re a young family trying to establish your own traditions. We ALWAYS went “home” to where our parents lived, and although our children and my husband seemed to absolutely love it, I didn’t. Sure, I enjoyed seeing family, but I longed to just once open gifts under our own tree…just once. Never happened.

Leave a Reply

