Article of Faith 8

We believe the Bible to be the word of God as far as it is translated correctly; we also believe the Book of Mormon to be the word of God.

I’ve seen this done many times where a church leader will ask everyone in the congregation to raise their hand if they have read the Book of Mormon cover to  cover. Unsurprisingly, almost every hand will go up. But then they ask the congregation to raise their hand if they have read the Bible cover to cover. I have never been in a congregation where more than a few hands went up.

The Church believes both the Bible and the Book of Mormon, and we accept them as scripture. For the most part, I think most members are fairly familiar with most of the stories from the Bible, but I’m learning as I study the scriptures that stories and lessons are not the same thing. The Bible contains a host of lessons that are often missed because we don’t always study the Bible.

Courtney and I made a goal more than two years ago that we would read the Bible cover to cover. We are currently pushing our way through the final chapters of Isaiah, and the experience has been worthwhile. I read the Bible on my mission, but then it was more of a task to be completed. This time, it is a book to be enjoyed, and we are enjoying it.

By my guess, we’ll be working our way through it for at least another year since we tend to do 1 to 2 pages a night. Katherine’s attention span doesn’t allow for much more family scripture study than that.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Article of Faith 8

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    My favorite missionaries ever helped me learn the 8th article of faith. Elder McClaughlin from Scotland and elder Meyer from South Africa. They were older (Elder Mclaughlin was 25, Elder meyer 27 or 29 or something). And they did a lot of service for our family… helped us clear the brush for our goat pen, went over to my grandparents (nonmembers) house to hang out and fish sometimes. (And of course, talk to them and fellowship.) Anyway, Elder McClaughlin taught me how to make a duck call out of a blade of grass, and taught me my 8th article of faith. (I was 8 years old). He said that I should feel good because it only took me 15 minutes to learn it, and it took him hours and hours.

    I loved those elders. My family still communicates with them, and have had visits from both of them since they have been off their mission.

Leave a Reply

