Article of Faith 7

Does it make me a bad person if I forgot that I was supposed to do my post on an Article of Faith this week? Technically, it’s still “this” week, right?

Here’s number 7.

We believe in the gift of tongues, prophecy, revelation, visions, healing, interpretation of tongues, and so forth.

I’ve had the pleasure in my life to experience several of these gifts for myself. Most notably perhaps are the gift of tongues and interpretation of tongues. Anyone who has served a mission in a foreign language can certainly testify to the simple realization of this gift. I’d even postulate that those who serve a mission in their native language are beneficiaries of this gift in their own way. The Lord loves His missionaries. Simple as that. Beyond that, I’ve been blessed to see the other gifts in action, be it a blessing of health, experiences with promptings and revelation, and so forth.

But what I’m pondering mostly is whether, as a church and people, we really believe and, more importantly, act on our belief in these gifts and the Articles of Faith in general. There’s a very real difference between knowing something is true and making the decision to base our lives around those truths.

I’m at the half-way point now with memorizing the Articles of Faith. It’s been an excellent and uplifting experience for me. But this idea of “making a decision” comes back again and again to my mind with each one. I’m tempted to modify the Articles of Faith slightly. They’d read as follows:

If we believe in God, the Eternal Father, and in His Son, Jesus Christ, and in the Holy Ghost, what should we do? How would I be different?

Or, in light of this week’s Article of Faith:

If we believe in the gift of tongues, prophecy, revelation, visions, healing, interpretation of tongues, and so forth, what should we do? How would I be different?

And this could apply to any of the Articles of Faith. If we believe, what should we do? What should we change?

They’re really more Questions of Faith, and I think, personally, they should start as questions for each of us. With an answer, they really become Articles. Standards of truth that not only define what we believe but who we are and what we do.

Because I believe in God, the Eternal Father, and in His Son, Jesus Christ, and in the Holy Ghost, I am… or I will do… or I will be….

If….

Do we? Do you? If you don’t or if you haven’t found out for yourself, it’s time.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

