The World’s Greatest Fudge

Fudge is one of those things that is either good or not. I think too many people try to get creative. Creative fudge is, in my opinion, on par with your typical fruitcake. And not a good fruitcake, but I’m talking more the kind that you put outside on the stump of a tree and no one, not even the birds, touches it for over a year. It survives rain, snow, summer heat, and winter cold. And yes… there is a story behind that, and yes, I’ll tell you another time, but for now, just know that bad fudge is like that fruitcake.

Good fudge is simple fudge. Fudge that is no more complex than a simple chocolate bar but with all the creaminess of heaven. Good fudge is my mom’s fudge, and here is the recipe:

  • 21 ounces of chocolate bars, broken up. My mom typically uses Hersheys milk chocolate
  • 12 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 14 ounces of evaporated milk
  • 1 cup of butter cut into chunks
  • 4 cups of sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups of mini marshmallows
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla

Place the chocolate and the butter in a large bowl or pan. You’ll need lots of room to stir, so make it a big one. In a heavy pan, pour the evaporated milk, sugar, and marshmallows. Heat it on medium-high until everything is melted and starting to boil while stirring constantly. Once it starts to boil, reduce the heat and boil for 7 minutes while stirring constantly. If you stop stirring for even a moment, you’ll scorch it, so keep stirring. After 7 minutes, pour the hot mixture over the top of the chocolate and butter. Stir vigorously until everything is melted. Keep stirring until the chocolate loses its shine (you’ll know exactly when that is), and then add and stir in the vanilla. Pour into a pan to set. And just in case you missed it, if you aren’t stirring while making this recipe, you’re doing it wrong. STIR!!!

The recipe takes about 30 minutes from start to finish, and you get instant gratification by sitting down with the bowl and a spoon. The fudge is creamy, so throw it in the fridge for an hour prior to cutting to make clean cuts.

And if you really must get creative, go ahead and add nuts or marshmallows when you add the vanilla. But don’t blame me if someone throws it out like a fruitcake!

I did warn you afterall.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The World’s Greatest Fudge

  1. Laura G says:

    Ooh…. I must try this!

  2. nosurfgirl says:

    erm…. we’re making that this friday, right?

    Just to let you know, I was kind of kidding about eggplant lasagna or turnip casserole. 🙂

    HOW CAN YOU NOT LIKE Byu fudge? oh, so good. So much better than a fruitcake, meaning of course the confection and also the personal epithet. Though I think that the latter has been applied to me on occasion so I don’t know how much I can say about it.

  3. daveloveless says:

    I have never tried the BYU fudge. I’m sure it is tasty since just about everything that comes out of the BYU Creamery is divine and totally delicious (especially the dairy products).

    We can make it on Friday if you like. Or we could just bring some of the stuff we already have (assuming that I don’t become barbaric and eat it all tonight).

    Oh, and you may been kidding about the eggplant lasagna (tasty) and turnip casserole (sounds weird), but I know for a fact that your husband was not! 🙂 Either way, Courtney’s homemade hoagies are incredible.

  4. Dad says:

    That was truly nasty David. The only reason it got put out there because it was burned beyond even my limits. But, you are right, even the birds passed on it. I’m not sure even the bugs would eat it when I put it on the ground.
    However, in the overall scheme of life a good fruit cake is truly a good thing.

  5. daveloveless says:

    I guess, since dad brought it up, that I must tell the fruitcake story. Dad got a fruitcake one Christmas from his angel mother who is normally an incredible cook. This poor fruitcake was a bit burned and, well, not very good. Dad set it out for the birds to eat, and they really would not touch it. And yes, it really did sit on that stump for over a year in the rain and snow and wind and ice and sun and heat and everything else.

    I’m pretty certain that it eventually contained its own biosphere when all was said and done, but no longer. It’s gone to that fruitcake heaven in the sky.

    And speaking of a good fruitcake, Panittoni (sp?) makes a fairly good fruitcake or at least I enjoyed their fruitcakes when I lived in Brazil. I’ve never had one in the US though, so there’s your caveat.

  6. Paul says:

    1. Is it salted or unsalted butter?

    2. Panittoni… yum… You can get it at Sunflower Market, but like Dave, I haven’t tried it this side of the Equator.

  7. daveloveless says:

    I’ve also seen Panittoni at Sams Club, so I assume that Wal-mart would have it as well.

    You know, I don’t know about the salted/unsalted thing. I’m going to guess salted. When we made it, we just grabbed the margarine in the fridge. It turned out great (as evidenced by the chocolaty mess spread all over my face).

  8. Pingback: Just in case you forgot… Fudge « the prodigal

  9. Pingback: Peanut Brittle « the prodigal

  10. Pingback: Christmas Fudge « the prodigal

Leave a Reply

