General Updates

Sorry. Between getting back in to life and a post-Thanksgiving cold that has taken up residence in my head I’m well behind in blogging….

Our trip over Thanksgiving was fun. We went with Courtney’s parents down to Albuquerque to see her grandparents. They are getting close to the end of their lives (especially grandpa), and we felt it was important to see them once more. They’ve been very good to us and, despite not really knowing them, they are some of our biggest fans.

I think I can sum up much of our trip by saying that we left for home Thanksgiving morning with dreams of getting most of the way home and stopping in a larger city for a simple Thanksgiving Dinner. We had had the family dinner the Tuesday before, so it didn’t need to be much. Unfortunately, we were hit by a blizzard in a not so populated part of the country and ended up stopping for the night in a town of about 2,000. No restaurants open. Not even the Subway. Fortunately, there was a gas station. My Thanksgiving dinner was a bag of Funyons, a Hot Pocket, and a chocolate milk. Courtney had a burrito, and Katherine had some Vienna Sausages.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Here at home we got the computer back. They ended up replacing the screen. It’s nice to have the computer, and I’m shocked how dependent we are on that thing. It’s just a machine (I almost said simple), but it totally dominates our lives. After listening to Elder Perry’s talk in the October Conference, we’ve talked about seriously simplifying our lives by getting rid of our cell phones, and I wonder if the computer might be part of that. Maybe not the computer as much as the internet. It’s nice to have the connection, but it also invites so much into our home that we don’t want.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, I made fudge last night. I wrote once long ago that I subscribed to the Brazillian philosophy of killing a cold through calories, particularly chocolate. I don’t know if it really works or not, but I think fudge is definitely the most universal answer to any question large or small. Have a problem? Here, have some fudge.

And with that I’m going to go ooze back into my own little corner with a plate of chocolately goodness. I’ll see you on the other side of this cold.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to General Updates

  1. Sarah says:

    Wow. That Thanksgiving sounds like a real bummer, but I’m sure you’ll laugh about it years later, like after you’ve had some delicious turkey, pie, potatoes, pie, and gravy.

  2. daveloveless says:

    The only thing that made it laughable and okay was that we had eaten a delicious Thanksgiving Dinner on Tuesday with Courtney’s grandparents. If Thursday had been our only Thanksgiving dinner, I would have been most depressed and distressed.

  3. Pingback: A Thanksgiving to Remember « the prodigal

Leave a Reply

