Article of Faith 5

This one is very late this week. It’s been a busy, stressful week.

We believe that a man must be called of God, by prophecy, and by the laying on of hands by those who are in authority, to preach the Gospel and administer in the ordinances thereof.

I think I’ve gained an increased testimony of priesthood authority over the last few months. I’ve challenged myself to use the priesthood more openly and courageously. One of the biggest changes I’ve seen is that ideas will often come into my head during lessons at church or gospel discussions, and I’ll feel a distinct impression to share them. At first, I ignored them. I noticed an immediate negative affect in both my ability to recognize the spirit and my ability to receive those impressions. When I started to share them, I saw the reverse.

I look over the past month of doing these posts, and I’m noticing that very little of what I actually write about has a strong connection to the Article of Faith I’m discussing. At the same time, though, I do feel that what has been written was a direct result of following the impression to memorize the Articles of Faith and, in part at least, is a continuation of the impression to be more open and courageous with my faith.

I do believe in inspired leadership and, moreover, I do believe that God inspires leaders. The concepts are distinctly different in their ability to affect my personal testimony of Christ, His Gospel, and the Church.

On a somewhat unrelated note, another benefit that I’ve seen of being more open and courageous is that the Lord grants those who want to know and do with an increased ability to teach and respond to other people. I was speaking with a friend on the topic of teaching, and he said that he can always tell when someone is teaching with the spirit because they strive not to lay down laws and principles but to bear testimony of laws and principles in a way that allows the person being taught to gain their own testimony. As Doctrine and Covenants 50 teaches us, teaching by the spirit edifies both the teacher and the student.

That is how Christ taught, it is how modern-day prophets teach, and it is how we should teach.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Article of Faith 5

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    I think I’m extremely, extremely too self-conscious in church. I’m so afraid of being thought of as a know-it-all. I was teased as a young woman for answering questions in sunday school. SO I subconsciously give myself a comments quota… in my own mind, I’ve done a better job in sunday school, the less comments I make. How wierd and twisted is that? I need to take a page out of your book dave, get some guts, and just be me and make comments when things come to me. THere’s a place for not going overboard and making every other comment every single sunday school class, but I need to get out of my own head and stop worrying so much what others think. Thanks for this reminder.

  2. daveloveless says:

    That’s always my biggest fear, but I’ve noticed that the “annoying” comments tend to come from people who seem a little self-righteous or comment on EVERYTHING. I only try to comment when I feel I can truly add something to the conversation and when I feel inspired to do so. Otherwise, I tend to keep things to myself.

    One of my favorite scriptures is the one where Mary treasures up in her heart her experiences with Christ’s birth. More often than not, I think that those quiet whispers were spoken quietly for a reason.

  3. nosurfgirl says:

    you’re right.

    I think it has to be about not worrying about what other people think (either the type of worrying, like, I’m being too nerdy, I can’t say any comments, or the type like, I want everyone to think I’m so cool so I’m going to comment) and concentrate on the spirit. ALl those worries tend to crowd the spirit out. I think that’s one of my biggest weaknesses.

  4. marlajayne says:

    I was just recently called to be the teacher development teacher in our ward, and it has been a true learning experience for me. I thought I knew a lot about teaching and about teaching with the spirit. However, these few weeks have taught me that I have a long way to go. Oh, I can talk and share ideas, but withotu the spirit, I literally cannot teach…at least not the way the Savior intended.

    I’ve also learned that it’s everyone’s responsibility to learn AND teach. If people like you and Sarah have something to say, then you should say it because someone needs to hear it.

Leave a Reply

