Article of Faith 4

We believe that the first principles and ordinances of the gospel are: first, Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ; second, Repentance; third, Baptism by immersion for the remission of sins; fourth, Laying on of hands for the gift of the Holy Ghost.

So much of what is on my mind today has so little to do with this Article of Faith. It’s Election Day, and today the nation will choose its next President. My mind keeps drifting to a plea I’ve heard from at least a dozen different people in a dozen different conversations today; whoever wins, it seems there will be a lot of praying that the next President really does turn out to be a good guy.

I hope so, too.

I honestly can’t remember a time when I was more pessimistic about the future of our nation than right now. I have a great fear of the direction that either candidate will take us, but I have a particular fear of what this means for my children. I was talking to a friend today, and she is convinced that an Obama victory is the path to our nation’s destruction. I spoke with another friend, and she believes a McCain victory will ruin this nation’s economy. I personally don’t really see a silver lining to either thunder cloud today; appropriate then that the rain and snow are flying in the real thunder clouds over my head.

And of course you are wondering what this has to do with the fourth Article of Faith. To be honest, I’m not sure. Maybe I could find a tie-in by saying that faith in the Lord, Jesus Christ would lead us to greater happiness as a nation. Maybe repentance would mean more wholesome lives. And maybe there is no tie-in at all except that I truly love the phrase “We believe….”

I believe that whomever is elected president today will have placed on his shoulders a greater burden than I care to bare. I believe that this nation’s establishment and continued preservation was and is an act of God. I believe that His interest in this nation gives us the right and responsibility to pray for whomever may fill the position and that we have the right to expect that person to fulfill the presidency with an eye heavenward. And I believe that the president who does not do so is not only accountable to God but to me.

The person I voted for will not win today’s election; he’s not even running. But the winner of today’s election will have my most sincere prayers and hopes because I believe in our own inate ability as people to do what is right in God’s eyes.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Article of Faith 4

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    My prayers, too.

    I got a lump in my throat as he walked on that stage. It was a big moment, for me… I’ll admit that freely over here, where people are less likely to chide me for overenthusiasm 🙂

    I have to say that, whether you agree with his politics or not, it would be hard to make the argument that he doesn’t care. Or that he doesn’t fully believe in what he preaches.

    I’ll come down off of this cloud at some point. Hopefully not because of anything he does.

  2. daveloveless says:

    You are indeed more than welcome to be overly enthused here. I watched both of the speeches last night, and I enjoyed McCain’s heart-felt attempts at reconciliation. I didn’t enjoy Obama’s speech as much because I’m somewhat cynical of him and his objectives. I was disappointed that God appeared nowhere in his speech except the standard “God bless you. God bless America,” at the end.

    He also asked for the support of those who did not vote for him, and I plan on blogging on that later today.

Leave a Reply

