Proffered Choices

I voted yesterday. I stood in line for about 30 minutes to do it, but I did do it. I even got the little sticker saying so. And I felt really good about it too because this is the first time I’ve really voted where I felt truly informed about all the ballot measures instead of just a few. This is also the first time that I decided to look at each candidate outside of their respective parties.

Personally, I’m not fond of either party. I think both are flawed and that neither will actually take this country where it needs to go. And I feel much the same about third parties. Several of the third parties are attractive to me in some ways, but they seem to take fringe stances that are either unrealistic or unreasonable.

I don’t want to necessarily discuss who I voted for, but I will go so far as to say that I voted for around 4 Republicans, 2 Democrats, and even a Libertarian if I remember right. And I feel good about that because the people I voted for largely represent my choices and morals. For president, I did go through with my threat to write-in the person I thought would best lead this nation instead of voting for the listed candidates.

It came down to proffered choices. I didn’t like them, and I’m tired of being proffered a bushel of bad political apples. I chose a fresh voice from the fruit tree that more closely matched me and my ideals. And while the person I chose will not win this election, I’m coming to realize that winning the election isn’t the purpose of my individual vote. My vote is my voice, and I used my voice to select the person I wanted.

So come what may. McCain, Obama… I think either will do worse for the country than good, and I’m somewhat proud to say that even though my guy is going to lose, I voted my conscious.

Now I just need to get one of those bumper stickers. You know, the ones that say “Don’t blame me… I didn’t vote for him!”

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Proffered Choices

  1. Paul P. says:

    Good for you! I really like your line: “I’m coming to realize that winning the election isn’t the purpose of my individual vote. My vote is my voice, and I used my voice to select the person I wanted.”

    I think that is pretty profound! Thanks.

  2. Laura G says:

    So are your polling places open earlier? I’m a little confused, since I can’t vote until Tuesday!

  3. daveloveless says:

    Sorry, I should have made that more clear…. My state is doing early voting.

    I waited as long as I could to the actual election date since I think voting too early does a disservice to my opportunity to be as educated and informed as possible, but I also know that Election Day promises to be extremely crowded.

  4. Sarah says:

    I’m voting by absentee ballott. Ahhhhhhh … No lines.

  5. marlajayne says:

    Hmmm. I was just thinking that we often (me anyway) have to choose between what’s proffered, and it isn’t always what we’d like. On a more serious note, I don’t know whether this will help you or not, but I recently listened to The Preacher and the Presidents, a book about Billy Graham and his influence and friendships with American presidents, on CD. More than once, the authors stated that Graham always tried to support whoever was president because he felt that God was with this country and that whoever the leader of the free world was, he was in that position because it was God’s will.

  6. daveloveless says:

    That’s a great thought, marlajayne, and I do indeed support the office of the president no matter who fills the role. I think this is one reason I can honestly say that I do support President Bush. I disagree soundly with him on many things and heartily agree with him on many others. And while I know the majority of this nation is very ready for him to be done, I can look back on his 8 years and see good things.

    And the same can be said of Clinton and Bush Sr. Beyond that, I start getting young enough that I didn’t really care.

    Whoever wins this election will have my respect, support, and even prayers despite any inherent disagreements or differences of opinion I may harbor.

  7. Travis says:

    Aleisha and I voted yesterday as well. We normally like to vote on the actual day, but Aleisha’s social anxiety does not make lines work well for her, so the line yesterday was as long as she could take- especially after last time of being sent to 3 different olling places and not being told, until after waiting in the huge line, that we were not at the right place.
    I heartily stand by your decisions, as long as the Libertarian that you voted for was NOT SuperDell!

  8. daveloveless says:

    It was certainly not SuperDell. I have trouble believing that, if he were elected, the body guards would actually stand up for him if he were attacked. SuperDell is just one of those people who has reached absolute genius levels with his idiocy. I can’t possibly imagine how he could become more annoying although I’m sure that the next few years will expand my vision.

  9. nosurfgirl says:

    Is superdell still around? Looks like I’ve got to brush up on my knowledge of local politics.

Leave a Reply

