What color is mommy?

This morning, Katherine was entertaining herself by identifying the colors of various objects in the house. The walls in the bedroom are green. The walls in the living room are a light brown. Her dress is yellow. To inspire her to new heights, I started asking her to identify specific things that were more difficult colors (a real challenge since I’m colorblind).

Finally, I asked what color mommy was. Katherine looked at mommy, looked at me, and looked back at mommy, but didn’t say anything. I attempted to encourage her by asking if mommy was blue. “No.” Is mommy purple? “No.” What color is mommy? “Mommy’s blown (brown with an “l” instead of an “r”).” This of course prompted fits of laughter from mommy’s ever-loving and supportive husband.

There are some things that I just couldn’t make happen better if I had planned them out.

This entry was posted in Katherine. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What color is mommy?

  1. Paul says:

    No kidding–colorblind leading the blind…

    Dave, I hate to break it to you, but unless you’ve painted recently, the walls in the living room are NOT light brown. 🙂

  2. daveloveless says:

    We did indeed paint in January. This time, I told Courtney the general idea I had, and she made sure it fit into the room. It looks lovely.

  3. Courtney Loveless says:

    I still don’t know how I got to be brown, since there is nothing remotely “brown” about me.

  4. daveloveless says:

    I forgot to update this, but we finally figured out why Katherine said Courtney was brown. The clue came out when she started to say that I was green….

    Eye color. Courtney has brown eyes. Mine are green/hazel.

    Ah… the mind of a child.

Leave a Reply

